Moultrie Observer

Opinion

April 12, 2012

Still good people

MOULTRIE — Editor's note: This letter has been corrected from its original version.

Dear editor:

People often talk and give a sobering assessment on the state the world is coming to today. They talk about how people have lost their way and good old-fashion morals have gone out the window. That may be true to some extent, but not everyone behaves this way. There are still so many people who are honest and try their best to do what they feel in their hearts is right. I recently had the pleasure to encounter such a person.

I own a car dealership in Moultrie. I often drive one of my vehicles as a demo. In 2003, I was driving a demo that someone wanted to buy. I sold the vehicle to this person and that was the last I heard of it.

I also lost my wallet in 2003. I thought that someone must have taken it. I searched weeks for it but, it was never found. With identity fraud occurring every day, I was worried this was going to happen to me.

 I closed all personal information items that I could. I chalked up the money inside the wallet as gone.

Then, out of the blue about two weeks ago I received a phone call from a lady in Tallahassee. While detailing the demo I had sold, she found my wallet between the seats! She asked if I would give my address so she could return it to me.

Within a couple of days my wallet was back in my possession. I could not believe that after all these years all of my belongings were still there. My money, credit cards, pictures and even a couple of paychecks I had not cashed. She returned it all. Although I knew there are still many people like Diana, stories that you hear every day makes one worry about how people are becoming less caring.

Diana has since restored my faith in humanity for us all. I was so proud of Diana’s act of kindness that I sent her a nice reward and a personal thank you letter.

Cliff Bridges

Moultrie

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results