Moultrie Observer

Opinion

June 16, 2007

A legend waiting to be born

The folks in Rock Bluff, Fla., may not have realized it yet, but they have a moneymaker right there in their backyard.

Last weekend, a “leaping sturgeon” struck a woman and knocked her unconscious. According to Associated Press, this was the second such incident recently. This is the stuff legends, or tall tales, grow from. It happened on the scenic and historic Suwannee River which adds to the marketing potential.

Given that sturgeons look rather prehistoric, this thing could take on “Loch Ness” proportions if properly handled, except that these things really exist, unlike “Nessie”, “Bigfoot,” and the “Abominable Snowman.”

These particular sturgeons can grow to be eight feet long and weigh 200 pounds. They have scales that resemble armor plating. They are naturally fitted for drama.

Neither of the two victims of these sturgeon had life-threatening injuries, but that could be stretched a bit for effect. Let Hollywood play with it a while, and it could become a threat surpassed only by “Jaws.”

Towns in the northwestern U.S. make fortunes selling the “Bigfoot” story. Coffee mugs, T-shirts and other stuff hawk an imaginary link between man and beast. Big things that go bump in the night will sell.

Certainly anglers could be enticed into such a marketing venture involving the sturgeon. And I say that not knowing what the rules are for fishing for sturgeon. For all I know, they may be a protected species.

So I’m wondering if the chamber of commerce in Rock Bluff has even considered the potential. Other communities might have their own freakish events that could be parlayed into marketing schemes.

Just a few years ago, it was discovered that a large python had killed an alligator in the Everglades. Actually, the python died in the process as well, but they must have really muddied the water before the event was over. That incident has been well documented and has brought about much study from scientists who fear that if these pythons should breed in the wild in that tropical environment, the balance of nature would be drastically upset.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results