Moultrie Observer

Opinion

August 30, 2007

There’s a new road into Barrow, Alaska

On a Sunday morning last fall, Cathy Parker was getting ready for church when one of her teen-age sons called her to the family room to watch a segment on ESPN about a football team in Barrow, Alaska.

It was an interesting segment because football in Barrow is as rare as ice hockey in Jamaica. It’s not easy to play football where grass doesn’t grow, where on average the mercury doesn’t rise above freezing 247 days out of the year, where the practice field is just a player’s jog to the Arctic Ocean. In fact, only a few people out of the entire town of less than 5,000 had ever played football before the Barrow Whalers’ inaugural season in 2006.

The idea to begin a football team in that community was planted in the minds of teen-agers by famous NFL Hall of Famer Larry Csonka, who traveled to Barrow as a guest speaker for the high school. Later when school superintendent Trent Blankenship surveyed the student body to determine what activities would help them remain interested in school, he was surprised at the largest response: form a football team.

In 2006, the Barrow Whalers donned pads for the first time. Mark Voss was named head coach and put on a coach’s whistle for the first time in 23 years. He surrounded himself with mostly inexperienced men who wanted to make a difference in the lives of more than 40 young men who needed direction and hope.

Could football really give the teen-agers of Barrow hope and direction? Over 50 percent of the students in Barrow drop out of school. When they do, they have no where to go, literally. Barrow is only accessible by boat or air. For 67 days a year, the sun doesn’t even rise. The town has dealt with teen-age depression, teen-age suicide, and even murder. Drug and alcohol use among Barrow’s youth is common.

Text Only
Opinion
  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/17/14

    July 16, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results