Moultrie Observer

Opinion

September 11, 2008

Are You Not Entertained?

My son’s college class was cancelled one day last week because the teacher couldn’t get the projection unit to work. Apparently her lecture was dependent on the use of the computer which was attached to visuals that she needed to teach.

Teaching is different than it used to be. Teachers have to be more creative. Students are more visual than ever. They use more of their senses to learn and teachers who simply lecture lose many students to the world of daydreaming.

In case you haven’t noticed, the way churches worship has changed, too. Projection units have added videos, words for music, images, scripture, and outlines of sermons to the order of worship. These added visuals keep people engaged. In addition to these changes, bits of theater, orchestra and praise bands have been added to worship services, too. If the sermon is to be the crescendo in these services every week, the pastor has to be a superstar.

All across the country that’s what churches are looking for, their own superstar pastor. Superstar pastors usually find their way to megachurches, churches with more than 2,000 people who attend each week. USA Today reports that the number of megachurches rose from 600 in 2000 to more than 1,250 in 2005, but may have peaked now.

In the same article, Ed Stezer, head of Lifeway Research in Nashville is quoted: “You can create a church that’s big, but is still not transforming people. Without transformation, the Christian message is not advanced.”

In the movie, “Maximus,” the star gladiator stands in the middle of the arena with his sword dripping wet with blood. With the Roman emperor, Commodus, and the Roman spectators looking on, Maximus calls out, “Are you not entertained? Are you not entertained?” And the crowd begins to yell, “Spaniard! Spaniard! Spaniard!”

Text Only
Opinion
  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results