Moultrie Observer

Opinion

April 11, 2012

Rant and Rave for 4/12/12

MOULTRIE — What it says

“You are right. That thing about those guys and their underwear way above their pants and their pants below their butts ... yep, it’s ignorance. They are making a statement, it says I don’t have any respect for me or you nor the sense to come in out of the rain."

What I see

“When I see that Intermodal Facility, I think of an old saying, ‘All dressed up and nowhere to go.’"

Mental health

“Could the Social Security facility be set up as a mental health center once it is vacated by the Feds? Just wondering."

Vulgar

“I, too, am annoyed by loud music from cars. But mostly I’m annoyed by the vulgar rap that I hear coming from those cars. I’ve got a kid in the car with me and I’m hearing some really nasty stuff. I don’t care if someone else wants to listen to it. It’s none of my business. I just don’t want imposed on me and my children."

Need petition

“A petition should be circulating so that the Social Security Administration knows how much we need the local office. It is a shame that services that are need by our citizens are relocating so where else, making it inconvenient to receive. We need this more than we need empty buildings and a fancy bus station. Please help keep the Social Security office in Moultrie. Chamber, city council and county commissioners need to step up."

Shovel-ready?

“That Intermodal thing must be one of those ‘shovel ready’ projects. Unfortunately, no one really has any use for it which is the key symptom of ‘pork barrel’ projects. Someone please tell me how it would even have been relevant to the old Friedlander Building being converted to a college. I guess when we have the ribbon cutting, we will have an announcement of what it is to be used for."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results