Moultrie Observer

Opinion

December 20, 2012

Rant and Rave for 12/21/12

MOULTRIE — In response

“Okay, think it through now. Because some educators pointed out which doors were unlocked do you really think they will remain unsecured for intruders now that they have been pointed out. I would bet administrators have already addressed those issues. Good job!"

Go on record

“To all the people saying that you know for a fact about drugs being in the schools. That your child has seen other students doing drugs in the bathroom, parking lot or where ever it may be happening. If you are not willing to go on record then shut up and quit complaining. Nothing can be done unless you tell the administration who and where it is happening."

The laws

“Adam Larza broke numerous laws when he committed the crimes in Connecticut. How are more laws the answer? Maybe we should just ban murder and see if that helps."

Applause

“Thank you Mr. Travis Kern and the serenaders for the wonderful Christmas music."

Newtown

“I had never really heard of Newtown until the tragedy. I just hope that someone doesn’t say the same thing one day about Moultrie."

The amendment

“If the second amendment only applies to muskets, then the first amendment doesn't apply to telephones, radio, text messages, television, or the internet."

Choice factor

“I’m not really sure what your point was in talking about how many people obesity kills. Keep in mind that in most cases, obesity is a lifestyle choice. Kids don’t make a choice to be massacred."

The question

“When young children are slaughtered en masse, it is a moment of reckoning for any society. To dismiss this as the act of a madman is unacceptable when it forms part of a pattern, part of a culture. The question to ask is not whether stricter laws would have prevented this but whether current laws and attitudes enabled it."

Text Only
Opinion
  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results