Moultrie Observer

Opinion

December 20, 2012

Rant and Rave for 12/21/12

MOULTRIE — In response

“Okay, think it through now. Because some educators pointed out which doors were unlocked do you really think they will remain unsecured for intruders now that they have been pointed out. I would bet administrators have already addressed those issues. Good job!"

Go on record

“To all the people saying that you know for a fact about drugs being in the schools. That your child has seen other students doing drugs in the bathroom, parking lot or where ever it may be happening. If you are not willing to go on record then shut up and quit complaining. Nothing can be done unless you tell the administration who and where it is happening."

The laws

“Adam Larza broke numerous laws when he committed the crimes in Connecticut. How are more laws the answer? Maybe we should just ban murder and see if that helps."

Applause

“Thank you Mr. Travis Kern and the serenaders for the wonderful Christmas music."

Newtown

“I had never really heard of Newtown until the tragedy. I just hope that someone doesn’t say the same thing one day about Moultrie."

The amendment

“If the second amendment only applies to muskets, then the first amendment doesn't apply to telephones, radio, text messages, television, or the internet."

Choice factor

“I’m not really sure what your point was in talking about how many people obesity kills. Keep in mind that in most cases, obesity is a lifestyle choice. Kids don’t make a choice to be massacred."

The question

“When young children are slaughtered en masse, it is a moment of reckoning for any society. To dismiss this as the act of a madman is unacceptable when it forms part of a pattern, part of a culture. The question to ask is not whether stricter laws would have prevented this but whether current laws and attitudes enabled it."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/17/14

    July 16, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/16/14

    July 15, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/15/14

    July 14, 2014

  • The Sabal project

    Dear editor:
    After holding more than 50 open houses and public meetings in communities along the pipeline route, and hundreds of meetings with government officials, public agencies, landowners, community organizations and key stakeholders, the Sabal Trail natural gas pipeline is moving forward.

    July 12, 2014

  • Obama much like Hitler

    Dear editor:
    In the past several months the popularity of the president has spiraled down and he has subverted our Constitution at every turn, yet nothing is being done to stop it.  There are calls for impeachment but no one has the guts to impeach this man, who has systematically brought down the greatest country in the world.

    July 10, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results