Moultrie Observer

Opinion

January 23, 2013

Rant and Rave for 01/24/13

MOULTRIE — Suggestion

“To the ranter who said a single shot shotgun was not a good defense: Let me suggest a 12-guage pump with a short barrel. It will hold five rounds and with buckshot it’s quite effective as a home protection device."

Buzzards issue

“Three buzzards in a front yard on main street is nothing. I counted more than fifty on the water tower near second street the other day. Since they are carnivores, what food source in town could be sustaining them? Get rid of their food source and they will leave."

Gun sales

“Have you been in a gun store lately? They're sold out. Obama's attempt to restrict guns has put more guns in the hands of citizens than the NRA ever could."

Violence is issue

“Gun control should not be an issue, violence is the issue. we have a right to own a gun, we don't have a right to violence. Prosecute the criminals to the max of the law, leave the law abiding citizens alone. Please remember its a "Bill of Rights" not a "Bill of Needs". Taking away the rights of others will not stop a violent act."

Need more room

“Mr. Walden, what hole have you been living in? You probably couldn't seat everyone that has an ‘assault’ rifle in Colquitt Co. in Withers Auditorium."

Praying for you

“Instead of worrying about Children being handed Bibles at School maybe you should be concerned about the drugs being handed out there. But that’s okay as long as God isn't mentioned in the process. You may be able to control Bibles being given out but one thing you can't control are prayers and I will be praying for you."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results