Moultrie Observer

Opinion

November 22, 2012

Rant and Rave for 11/23/12

MOULTRIE — Coaching

“So I guess it’s a sin to be a coach. I’ve heard this whining for years. It never changes.But if it wasn’t coaches and football it would be something else. So I guess football helps keep the heat off others."

Don't need it

“Colquitt County does not need a magnet school. A school for students who are performing 2 or more years below grade level need the services more."

Charter schools

“Passing the Charter School Amendment will affect the budget of the local school board. If a charter school is initiated then they will get local money. Teachers are already needing more up-to-date equipment and spend a good portion of their salary on school supplies. This will negatively affect all schools."

The workers

“Dear 'taxing the rich', if you did not have people like 'us' (the average working, middle income folks) then it is highly doubtful you would have a business to close."

Rich folks

“Don't cry for the rich folks who will pay more taxes under  Obama's plan. The tax on their first $250,00 in income will be unchanged.

"Above that, the rates will be the same as they were in the Clinton years. No one would confiscate their money.

"Also, a prospering business could be sold at a fair price to some younger person who would be happy to get into a money-making enterprise."

Warm and fuzzy

“Gripe, gripe, gripe. Enough with the negativity. This holiday season, I challenge you to find something positive to rave about, instead of all this complaining. Wouldn't it be great to see an entire column of warm and fuzzy? Give it a try."

You've been had

“How did it feel when Bush relieved the rich of $1 trillion in taxes and said they were the wealth makers, the job creators; that we’d all benefit because that is what they’d do with the windfall? More importantly, how did it feel when those benefits didn’t materialize, and yet those tax breaks were renewed plunging the nation still deeper into debt as the economy itself was shrinking? Do the math (actually, it’s simple arithmetic), and tell us how it feels to realize you’ve been had!"

Text Only
Opinion
  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/17/14

    July 16, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results