Moultrie Observer

Opinion

November 23, 2012

Rant and Rave for 11/24/12

MOULTRIE — Get it straight

“If you are not involved with the gifted program, you should get your story straight before making a comment. The students that attend the program work hard from the beginning of the school day straight through to 1:00. They then have to walk down to the WJW cafeteria, get their meal and return to their classroom to eat because the WJW administrators say they don't have room for them to eat in the cafeteria(big joke!)

"There is plenty of room for them, it's just an administrative issue.  They are taken out on the practice field at 1:35 for their break and then they leave at 2:00.  Why not get your facts straight.  These kids, faculty and staff work hard and our future leaders are learning so much more by attending the gifted center."

Observation

“If some of you had your way, our students would be sitting on five-gallon buckets and writing on slates."

Thanks

“Thank you shoppers who donated to the band students that were out bagging groceries at Winn Dixie and Harveys. These monies will go into these kids band accounts and will be spent on their personal band expenses. It can be used to repair their instruments, letterman jackets, activities and trip expenses. I hope you were impressed with our youth and again, Thank you all for your assistance. It means a lot to these kids."

Nice road

“It is nice to drive on Main street now that it has been paved by the state. The state of Georgia Highway Administration has done a wonderful job. Now it is time that the city of Moultrie do the same with the streets in the city. Some people need to get their facts correct before they write to the rant and rave. 319 is a state road, which means maintained by the state."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results