Moultrie Observer

Opinion

November 26, 2012

Rant and Rave for 11/27/12

MOULTRIE — Christmas parade

“I would like to know why the Christmas parade was changed from Saturday night to Thursday night. It is more convenient for everyone if it is on Saturday instead of a week/school night. Also, it would allow more time for people to work on their floats."

Buzzards

“Whose responsibility are the buzzards in moultrie. You can not travel anywhere in southeast moultrie. They are a health hazard and a danger to all who live in that section of town. What kind of world is this that you are afraid to step outside of your house. Something needs to be done."

We did it

“You wonder who took ‘Christ’ out of Christmas? You did. This is a season of worship, not shopping. Our children hold Santa in higher esteem than they do Christ. So stop calling it Christmas, it's just a Happy Holiday.

"Or teach the children what this season is really about, help someone in need, visit with the sick and lonely. If you wonder what is wrong with this world, we are. Only we can change it."

We're famous

“My cousin in Ohio called to tease me about our shopping riot. Isn’t it great to be famous?"

Peace on earth

“So much for peace on earth, goodwill toward men."

The bias

“The last few years of playoff football games should have taught some of the players that the men in stripes, North of the gnat-line, are extremely bias against South Georgia teams. It seems that any excuse to flip out the old yellow flag against us is all they are looking for. I wish some of our players would realize that actions, over and above hard-nosed football, and certainly those after the whistle, are foolish, damaging and could break the backs of the entire team’s efforts."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results