Moultrie Observer

Opinion

November 27, 2012

Rant and Rave for 11/28/12

MOULTRIE — The buzzards

“Who’s in charge of the buzzards? I don’t think we have a buzzards department. Are they really a health hazard or do we just imagine this? Maybe the health department can weigh in on this subject."

Violence

“After just now reading the article, ‘Lawmen: Violent Thanksgiving Weekend’, I'm thinking there has to be some real saints and patient folks in law enforcement in Moultrie and Colquitt County. How on earth do they deal with the environment that pervades the area now?"

Touching tribute

“What a touching tribute to Coach White! Great job Wayne Grandy."

Young educators

“It is a shame that our young educators have to travel out of town to get jobs. If they are good enough for another county, why aren't they good enough for Colquitt County? Wonder why after college our home town job seekers look elsewhere?"

Class size

“C. A. Gray has 9 PE teachers and 1300 students. If each PE teacher only teaches 6 out of 7 periods and if every student at the school took PE, they would only have 24 students in a class. My elementary school aged child has 30 students in her class during critical math and reading times! Maybe our newly elected school board members will step up and insist on change because our superintendent and assistant superintendent are not."

No peace

“We moved to the country outside of Norman Park to get peace and quiet. Now our new neighbors from way down south make it a nightly occurrence of getting drunk and shooting guns way past midnight. It’s got to stop."

Think about it

“Our military, police, firemen are fighting every day and some losing their lives to preserve our freedom and keep us safe. To the Black Friday  shoppers -- think about what you were fighting for, a cell phone."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results