Moultrie Observer

Opinion

June 2, 2014

Rant and Rave for 6/3/14

MOULTRIE — Negative ads

“I see politicians running their negative ads again.  I am so sick of them insulting my country and my neighbors.  It’s like watching Fear Factor where the contestants gobble down inedibles like sheep eyeballs.  I can’t help but think that can’t be good for them, and it sure isn’t helping us. How about leading by behaving rationally?"

Curses and hugs

“So during the primaries and run-off periods, candidates of the same party will beat up on each other as total incompetents. Then as soon as the choice is made as to which one will represent the party in the general election, they all become friends and assure their support to one another. At that point the difference  in their genius is so small you can hardly tell it. Ain’t America great! What a reality show!"

Bad shape

“I remember back in the day when the Doerun Post Office had a Postmaster AND the grounds surrounding the building were beautiful.  Nowadays, no Postmaster AND the grounds look pathetic!"

Small glimpse

“The VA medical fiasco is a small glimpse into what Obamacare will be for all of us if we let the lefts plan take affect over time.  Elect those that will repeal and root out this socialist agenda now.  Our Veterans deserve more than the pathetic VA and we the American people can do better!"

Just wait

“All of you "Gun Owners but not Gun Nut's" you have your head's in the sand.  I'm no fool and no one has ever accused me of being ignorant.   Those of you that enjoy owning guns but think that rights comes without a price are the true fools.

"Sit back and make fun of those of us who take the fight to the enemy of our rights and you could loose the right to own a gun and all of the other rights you enjoy, there are those that would be happy to make you a subject instead of a citizen, wake up!"

Text Only
Opinion
  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/17/14

    July 16, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results