Moultrie Observer

Opinion

June 3, 2014

Rant and Rave for 6/4/14

MOULTRIE — Guns issue

“Yep. Let’s take guns into nightclubs and  honky tonks. What possibly could go wrong there?"

Suggestion

“Since our president is in a prisoner swapping mood, how about one million illegal aliens for that one Marine being held in a Mexican jail?"

Common practice

“Hey sir or madam, negative ads in election season is as common as nutgrass in a peanut field. My guess is you’re only tired of it because it’s directed at your candidate.

"If people are so upset with negative ads, then why do you read them or listen to them. You know it’s kind of like music you don’t like. There’s a knob on the radio. And what to do is not really rocket science."

Comedy

“Good point. In the primaries candidates of the same party will lambast each other’s credentials. Then when the field narrows toward the general election it’s ‘Oh I love you so much.”

“But I love you more.’

"It’s almost as comedic as searching for Bigfoot."

Applause

“Dr. Jackson deserves a big thank you for her leadership and vision that she brought to Gray.  STEM is the way of the future and the leveling field for all children.  Unfortunately, our county was not ready for her and that is our fault.

"We are so used to the status quo.  We will miss her intelligence, her enthusiasm, and her love for all children.  Just remember when one door closes, another opens.  Colquitt County should be rioting on your behalf.  

"Know that you left a positive mark in this county."

Observation

“Someone in R&R was disappointed that Austin Scott is trying to get illegal immigrants into the military.  Well, you got them driving all over Colquitt Co. without driver's license and insurance, and with DUI's, so what's the difference? Ask yourself that.

"At least those who were put into the military would not be on the roads endangering people's lives."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results