Moultrie Observer

Opinion

March 29, 2012

Rant and Rave for 3/30/12

MOULTRIE — Observation

“An observation: To you young guys who are painted from head to toe with tattoos, wear your caps turned sideways, trying to grow beards when it looks like mange ... do you really think you will ever be employable? It’s not just the physical appearance but the obvious law grade mentality that goes with it. Guys, there just aren’t that many biker shops hiring and who wants to eat hamburgers that you cook? Clean up!"

Check facts

“Check your facts. Mr. Bush spent about half as much in eight years as Mr. Obama has spent in three years. The economy did not start to go south untill the second presidential term of Mr. Bush when the Democrats regained control of Congress. Mr. Bush had no trouble winning his second term."

Morally wrong

“Is it morally right to take from one and give to another? No matter how you wrap it, theft is theft. Taxes are a form of theft. Welfare is funded by taxes. Welfare is morally wrong. It is the duty of those who believe in charity to provide for the needy. Two wrongs don't make a right..."

In response

“I think Mr. Driver did a wonderful job with his article. Mr. Edwards may need to read just a little slower. He did not say everyone on food stamps was lazy.  I witness a lot of people on foodstamps who do not deserve them. My mother worked all her life and when she was old and needed help she could get no help at all. If people get them that don't work and can, let them clean the roads or whatever is needed to pay for their stamps. I also know people still sale stamps for money and buy meat for dog food. Keep up your good work Mr. Driver, the majority thinks you are right on the money."

Text Only
Opinion
  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/17/14

    July 16, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results