Moultrie Observer

Opinion

February 20, 2013

Rant and Rave for 02/21/13

MOULTRIE — Performing arts

“Just heard there are no plans to build a new auditorium at the new high school. Is that true? What about the 1500 students that are involved in the performing arts? Don't they deserve a space too?"

Our decision

“Taking a child to Thomasville in our case was due to the fact that the middle school places students according to test scores only! Therefore, our student was placed in low level classes putting our student with kids whos priorities are not school. When asked to move up a level we were told no. Our student left the county because our student was not being challenged and we did not want our student in a room with under achievers. We left because we want our student to get a great education not an ok education."

Answer is clear

“The answer to the debate about weapons that were designed for the sole purpose of killing humans quickly and efficiently in a war setting is to ask what you think Christ’s opinion would be. You know the answer, you may not like it, but the answer is clear."

I agree

“I agree that we should use drones where possible so as not to put our young men and women in harm’s way. We have sacrificed too many already."

Guns issue

“After the Georgia Sheriffs Association said officially they will not enforce a firearms ban if passed, I want to see our Sheriff (Al Whittington) say the same thing publicly. Mr Whittington, please let us know where you stand on the issue."

Racist comment

“What a racist bigoted ignorant statement made about physicians with foreign sounding names. What if a physician judged a patient by his last name before treating them. You know a physician is bound by an ancient code to treat the lowest scumbag out there knowing that they'll never get paid and could be sued."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results