Moultrie Observer

Opinion

November 5, 2012

Do some serious flag-waving: Go to the polls

MOULTRIE — Today is the big day! Today one can exercise his right to vote — assuming, of course, he or she has registered.

The right to vote is one of the most basic concepts of our democratic republic. Even though we have an electoral college procedure for choosing our president, those electoral votes are the favor of the popular vote in each state.

Many people debate which it should be, electoral college or popular vote. Typically, if the candidate lost the national popular vote but gained the electoral vote, then his or her supporters see the importance of the electoral college. If the opposite happens, then it’s human nature to decry the electoral college and uphold the popular vote. Funny how it works that way.

Good, bad or indifferent, this is the system we have. But we do have the right to cast our votes without fear of intimidation. Voting places are readily available to us and the most streamlined voting processes make it very easy for us.

Keep in mind that when one votes, he upholds our democracy and uplifts the many sacrifices that secure it. If we don’t vote, then that’s tantamount to saying that those sacrifices were for naught.

There are many, many nations where the citizens would like to be able to make choices without their lives being threatened. They haven’t been spoiled by democracy so complacency is not an issue with them.

Whoever we choose today for president, it will  have been the desire of the majority, regardless of our stand on the rightness or wrongness of the electoral college. All candidates chosen for posts outside of the presidency will have won their seats on the one-man-one-vote premise.

Let’s all do some very serious flag waving today ... Let’s go to the polls!

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results