Moultrie Observer

Opinion

April 9, 2012

Rant and Rave for 4/10/12

MOULTRIE — Sagging pants

“If the sagging pants thing started in prison, then maybe that’s poetic because people with such little self respect are likely headed that way."

Don't look

“I happen to be a female with tattoos and piercings and have a great job. It's self expression. If you don't like it, then don't look. Having tattoos and/or piercings does not affect my job in anyway so what's the big deal? Don't be so quick to judge a book by it's cover or better yet leave the judging to a higher power!"

Other deaths

“We have all heard or watched the Trayvon Martin Case unfold. Well I' am a student of the high school and this case aggravates me. At the high school we have had at least 4 or more deaths within one class. Suicides, murders, and accidental. Their deaths are not being broadcast on national television as an ‘American tragedy’ when they are all an American tragedy!

"I do not see the difference between his death and my fellow classmates. They were all human beings all young adults, and they all never got to experience a full life. So why should my classmates’ deaths be ignored when another young adult’s death is being paraded around as if he was a politician?"

Agreement

“I guess people can't understand where Mr. Driver is coming from, if they cannot see from the perspective of someone who works hard and can't get anything, opposed to someone who doesn't work nor wants to, who can get what they want. I think a wide majority agree with you Mr. Driver, keep it up!"

Need data

“There’s obviously a lot of misinformation out there about welfare. I would like for that agency in charge to give us some details on how much, what type and who qualifies. ‘They say’ can often distort an issue and we need a clearer understanding."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results