Moultrie Observer

Opinion

March 11, 2014

Rant and Rave for 3/12/14

— — — — Express lane

“To the person frustrated with the express lane: This is a prime example of a lack of intelligence among us. More and more people become inconsiderate of others. As long as they get theirs, no one else matters. And no, the store is not going to make them go to another checkout. Thus, that sign that says ‘express’ is just a suggestion."

Bad hair day?

“You are upset because a school bus was used to transport four kids to the state fair? Really? That gives you a bad hair day? You must be really blessed otherwise."

Big rig scare

“So I’m driving down the highway and a tractor-trailer rig pulls in behind me. He’s right on my bumper. I’m going 60 mph and won’t go any faster. I have to make a right turn so I give my signal a half mile before I get to the turn. Still he’s right on my bumper. I had to jerk the wheel to make the turn because I was afraid he couldn’t  avoid running over me otherwise.

 As he went by, he blew his horn and gave me the finger. Fortunately I wasn’t turning left and had to wait for oncoming traffic. I guess he would have run over me. So I’m assuming at truck driving school they teach them that they own the road and we just get to borrow it once in a while. Or was this just an isolated idiot?"

Curious

“Just read Mr. Leigh’s letter. I’m curious as to why this is just now coming out and if there are other underlying issues not spoken of here."

Noticed it too

“Whoever made the comment about trying to work with business expansion as opposed to working against them: Thank you. I’ve been noticing this for some time. I’m surprised our city council hasn’t noticed this.. So my advice to council is that you should start making some inquiries. Regulations are necessary. Common sense is crucial."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results