Moultrie Observer

Opinion

December 18, 2012

Rant and Rave for 12/19/12

MOULTRIE — Religious rights

“Why did the Berlin police stop a religious celebration? Just because we are not Baptist or Christians does not mean that we do not have religious rights."

Tell me why

“I pay my property taxes and I can't participate in religious song and dance, because of a noise ordinance. Is it because it was a Catholic celebration? Or was it because is was just a bunch of Hispanics?"

In response

“Of course, here we go again, someone suggest something new and inventive that could possibly improve our community, like bathrooms on the walking trail and immediately people start pointing to the negative possibilities, like only ‘thugs’ will use those bathrooms. This is why nothing ever comes to Moultrie, this is why Moultrie doesn’t even have a nice place to play for children. Until we start looking at advancements as a positive, Moultrie and Colquitt County will never grow as a community."

Drugs at school

“From a student at the high school I can tell you that drugs are everywhere there, not just in the cars in the parking lot!"

Ready for trial

“I laid down all business and got myself to court, ready to go to trial. Had I not been there, I would be in jail, waiting for the next term. Charges were dismissed, which was going to be the outcome anyway. Should they be refiled, who is to bear the cost of a new bond, and paying my lawyers retainer? I will. You were late, the Judge did the right thing. Now you do the right thing and move on. Should any of those cases reappear in your court, then refile the charges. Otherwise it is nothing other than malicious prosecution."

Not too much

“So, you think 3 years is too much for shooting an officer with a pellet gun! That officer could have shot and killed the boy thinking his life was in danger and would have been justified, so don't think 3 years is too much.

"Maybe you also think this was just boys being boys huh?"

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results