Moultrie Observer

Opinion

February 25, 2013

Rant and Rave for 02/24/13

MOULTRIE — Thugs beware

“Out on West Boulevard, there’s a pair of tennis shoes hanging from a tree limb. I’m told that this is how some of the local gangs mark their territories. By the way, to whichever bunch of thugs put this here, you didn’t clear it with me and my friends. So if you think you’re going to intimidate us, then you  may wish you were back in Old Mexico when the smoke clears. Meanwhile, could the city come by and take down those silly shoes."

Me too

“Oh my! I had the exact same experience while my child was in school in Colquitt County High. The administrator agreed that the teacher had made a mistake and apologized to me and my child, but then said he HAD to side with the teacher because "his hands were tied." This administrator even asked the teacher to apologize to my child, but the teacher would not and my child was punished. This must be the same administrator."

My experience

“My guess is that if a student goes to class to learn and really tries to behave, he or she will have no problems with the teachers. It’s just a hunch on my part because that’s the way it worked when I was in school."

Only God

“Disagreeing with Mr. Obama does not mean the same as hating him. Facts make it evident that Mr. O's policies are not helping anyone. We are so much worse off than 5 years ago, it's frightening. Only God can bring America out of this. He has the answers, we just need to heed His Word."

We need books

“My child attends WJW Middle School, and many of you know the students are not able to bring textbooks home. This is becoming frustrating to my child as well as myself. At times the copied material does not contain enough information to fully understand the particular topic. To the board of education and to whom it concern, let’s do all we can to enhance our children's education!"

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results