Moultrie Observer

Opinion

December 1, 2009

Nation must return to its spiritual roots

At this time of year and during this tumultuous time in our nation many turn to their religious foundations for consolation and comfort. But many don’t.

Our spiritual foundations are being shaken to their very roots by the evil of Political Correctness and the ACLU and whom do we blame? One hears the hue and cry of, “Vote them all out!” as the be all and end all of our distress. But is it?

Our nation was founded on the solid principles of natural law through divine right. The Founders were primarily Protestants with a few Deists thrown in. The concept of “Judeo-Christian Principles” did not come into being until the 20th century. But the founders were in unanimous agreement that we were a nation founded on a belief in a benevolent and caring God.

So do vote them all out and it will have an effect but until we reject the politically correct “Separation of Church and State” myth the new “Them” will not be our salvation. There is no such thing as separation of church and state in the Constitution or Bill of Rights or elsewhere in our laws. We all need to be aware of this fact.

This myth was propagated from rhetoric lifted out of context from a letter written by Thomas Jefferson to the Danbury Baptist Association in 1802 in which he said, “… I contemplate with sovereign reverence that respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof, thus building a wall of separation between church and state.” And the Bill of Rights Amendment I states, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof …”

Does this not say then, by intent and laws, that one’s religious practices are protected from being interfered with by the government? Is it not time to set aside politically correct and reclaim the Constitutional rights the Founders set up for us? The Manhattan Declaration may be the start. Let’s keep that ball rolling.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results