Moultrie Observer

Opinion

March 19, 2012

Rant and Rave for 3/20/12

MOULTRIE — No great issue

“Voter ID fraud is no great problem despite Republican alarms. Absentee ballots are, with cases often showing one crook voting dozens of them to suit himself or herself. Why doesn't the GOP attack real problems?"

What's wrong?

“What is wrong with military doctors that will send someone with brain and other injuries back into combat?"

Can they sue?

“Obviously the soldier who snapped and killed all those people is going to be put away in prison. So, can the family, being deprived of their husband and father, sue the military for putting him back into action when he was already determined to have emotional/stress issues?"

Start at home

“Agree with the ranter, it is time to stop the blame game and get off our lazy tush. How can we expect change when we continue to be comfortable in the way things are.

"We complain about not having Red Lobster or Olive Garden or any other restaurants come to Moultrie Stop driving out of town to eat at them. When was the last time you did any shopping in downtown Moultrie, with local merchants? We need to start at home doing the things that will help our community grow. Complaining has not work, so roll up your sleeves and lets get to work."

Suggestion

“I believe I have a simple solution for the sex ed issue. Have it an elective course for the parents who want to have their child learn this from a course in school sign their child up at start of the year.

"For those who want to teach at home let them.

"The end."

Priorities issue

“The problem is that the priorities of the new CEO at CRMC are all wrong. Quality patient care should come first, not the appearance of the facility! Sure maintenance and upkeep are important but should not be done at the expense of quality patient care. Cutting staff at the same time as increasing services and spending money on renovations does not make sense."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results