Moultrie Observer

Opinion

January 21, 2013

Rant and Rave for 01/22/13

MOULTRIE — Rambo factor

“Oh my gosh, under the new gun law proposals I won’t get to buy an assault weapon. But that’s okay, I still have a download of ‘Rambo’ so I can stimulate my testosterone levels."

Need a spine

“GOP: Show us some spine. You are soon to be non-existant, unless you do what the American people elected you to do - stand up for conservative principles. You go along with Obama and the Democrats so as to avoid blame for anything that goes wrong.

"Have you not noticed that you get the blame anyway? Has is ever occurred to you that if you stood up for the principles you once held, that you might actually get credit?"

No accountability

“You’re right about no accountability with our welfare system. I like the idea that a person getting food stamps must be screened for drugs. And there should be some way to account for those people who sell the food stamps to get drug money."

PTSD issue

“I Have PTSD from the war in Vietnam and I don't want this label to be on my driver's Licenses. Does this fool senator have nothing better to do with his time. An to the Veterans that want it on their licenses let it be an individual thing, this should not come from a bill to the state house."

Needing help

“If you can afford a Caddy, YOU and your family should be taking care of your grandmother...not us. You are not alone. The mentality of today's world is If the government is giving money away, I'm getting MY cut". Maybe folks should sacrifice a tad more and settle for a Ford. Then the folks that REALLY need help can get a little bit more help."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results