Moultrie Observer

Opinion

January 22, 2013

Rant and Rave for 01/23/13

MOULTRIE — Childish jabber

“I’ve never heard such childish jabber as I have over the gun issue. No one is knocking on your door to take your pump shotgun. No one is taking your pistol. And if you contend that forbiding someone to have a magazine that holds more than 10 rounds is ludicrous because you can have 2 magazines, then get you 2 dadgum magazines and you’re good to go."

That smell

“I  just read the article about the foul smell at the jail. Since the smell becomes stronger after dishes are finished. You need to check the hot water heaters for stagnant water. If this is it, there is a very strong something like sulphur and sewer. I know this from experience. Good luck. I hope this is it."

Our buzzards

“So I’m riding downtown today and on South Main Street there are three buzzards in a front yard. You know this is getting a bit serious."

Hospitality

“When you see vehicles in the middle of the road that are broken down, why don't these people slow down and move over? Or stop and ask if those people need help? Southern hospitality is slowly disappearing around here. Remember folks, what would you want someone to do if you were broken down in the middle of the road?"

Observation

“Now I know how to increase attendance at the polls. Put a question on the ballot to repeal the 2nd Amendment."

Not squirrels

“Well, Mr. Gun Laws. It ain't squirrels kicking in doors and robbing folks. A single shot shotgun is slightly more useful than a stick when you have four invaders determined to rape and kill."

Check Romans

“Here is something better, Romans 13:1. ‘Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God. Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed.’ You have been told not to distribute religious materials while on school property. Therefore you sin by disobeying the law of man."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results