Moultrie Observer

Opinion

February 7, 2013

Where I stand on homosexuality

MOULTRIE — Dear editor:

Today I was having a conversation with somebody and the conversation involved religion and politics. We were actually discussing political personality Bill Maher. I myself disagree with most of his political and religious views.

 The guy I was talking to loved the ground that Mr. Maher walked on. Anyway, the conversation proceeds and the guy says that everyone who believes the Bible is a homophobic idiot and Bill Maher doesn't want those type people running the world. I simply stated that I personally agreed that marriage is a sacred institution that should only be between a man and a woman.

I do not consider myself homophobic but I believe that God, my God, intended for men to be with women and that's it. Now, I don't try to impose this belief on anyone or allow it into my political arguments because I do not believe that the issue is big enough to be a federal talking point.

We have much bigger problems than allowing homosexuals to marry.

The point is this; everyone has an opinion and to some degree everyone's opinions differ. Voicing of the opinion is okay, that is modern politics.

However, attempting so hard to change the mind of the other party until you are angry is simply silly. If I have my mind made up that God is real and that marriage is strictly between a man and a woman, then changing my mind may be difficult. I as well do not expect to change anyone's mind that does not believe as I do.

I simply voiced opinion. Marriage, at least to me, should only be between a man and a woman.

God, at least to me, exists to the fullest degree. I'm not attacking anyone else's opinions or views, I'm just stating mine.

Andy Driver

Moultrie

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results