Moultrie Observer

Opinion

February 7, 2013

Where I stand on homosexuality

MOULTRIE — Dear editor:

Today I was having a conversation with somebody and the conversation involved religion and politics. We were actually discussing political personality Bill Maher. I myself disagree with most of his political and religious views.

 The guy I was talking to loved the ground that Mr. Maher walked on. Anyway, the conversation proceeds and the guy says that everyone who believes the Bible is a homophobic idiot and Bill Maher doesn't want those type people running the world. I simply stated that I personally agreed that marriage is a sacred institution that should only be between a man and a woman.

I do not consider myself homophobic but I believe that God, my God, intended for men to be with women and that's it. Now, I don't try to impose this belief on anyone or allow it into my political arguments because I do not believe that the issue is big enough to be a federal talking point.

We have much bigger problems than allowing homosexuals to marry.

The point is this; everyone has an opinion and to some degree everyone's opinions differ. Voicing of the opinion is okay, that is modern politics.

However, attempting so hard to change the mind of the other party until you are angry is simply silly. If I have my mind made up that God is real and that marriage is strictly between a man and a woman, then changing my mind may be difficult. I as well do not expect to change anyone's mind that does not believe as I do.

I simply voiced opinion. Marriage, at least to me, should only be between a man and a woman.

God, at least to me, exists to the fullest degree. I'm not attacking anyone else's opinions or views, I'm just stating mine.

Andy Driver

Moultrie

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/17/14

    July 16, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/16/14

    July 15, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/15/14

    July 14, 2014

  • The Sabal project

    Dear editor:
    After holding more than 50 open houses and public meetings in communities along the pipeline route, and hundreds of meetings with government officials, public agencies, landowners, community organizations and key stakeholders, the Sabal Trail natural gas pipeline is moving forward.

    July 12, 2014

  • Obama much like Hitler

    Dear editor:
    In the past several months the popularity of the president has spiraled down and he has subverted our Constitution at every turn, yet nothing is being done to stop it.  There are calls for impeachment but no one has the guts to impeach this man, who has systematically brought down the greatest country in the world.

    July 10, 2014

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results