Moultrie Observer

Opinion

November 27, 2012

Why don't the Republicans grow some backbone?

MOULTRIE — Dear editor:

We lost the battle not the war but the way Republicans are capitulating one would think we lost the war.

 The way Saxby and other Republicans are bowing down is sad to see. We did not elect these people to see them give in to the Democrats or the president. How long will the president and Democrats hold the middle class hostage? The first things Obama wants to cut is Social Security, Medicare, and our military. Why doesn’t he cut Congress pay checks, his pay check, or fire his czars and his wife’s staff?

Why don’t the Republicans hold Obama’s feet to the fire? Are they afraid of him? What does he have on them? Our Republicans need to grow some backbone and stand up for what they were elected to do. Why don’t the Republicans give Obama a deadline about what his plan is and put it in writing. What is his plan for spending cuts, who is he going to tax, what is his plan for tax reform, what is his plan period.

The election is over but we still have four dead Americans in Benghazi and no one will tell us what happened. Who is responsible for their deaths? Who failed to act? How come two weeks later was Obama telling the UN it was all about a movie trailer and not a planned attack? They knew within minutes that this was an organized attack and did nothing. They waited until after the election and now they have swept it under the rug. We need to fire or impeach someone?

If Saxby Chambliss and other Republicans including the speaker are rolling over and accepting everything that Obama wants, it may be we need to think about putting someone else to represent us in Washington. I am sorry Saxby but I was under the impression that you are up there to represent the people who elected you, not play golf and roll over every time Obama wants you too.

Gerald Psalmond

Moultrie

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/29/14

    July 28, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Stay tuned folks, Shark Week is just days away

    Mankind has always been fascinated with things bigger than himself and particularly things bigger than himself that can eat him.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results