Moultrie Observer

Opinion

November 30, 2012

Rant and Rave for 12/01/12

MOULTRIE — Magnet school's impact

“I think all parents and community members should have been invited to the 'exclusive' meeting about a magnet school. It'll have an impact on all of us."

What's the cost

“I wonder how much it's costing our school system for so many coaches and bus drivers to go to the playoff games a day early. We can't afford to reduce class sizes or have fulltime assistant principals at the elementary school, but we can find funds for those expenses."

Whose idea?

“The comments from Dr. Yearta makes it sound as if the elementary principals are on board with a magnet school. I understand that all 10 elementary principals have verbally said they don't think it's a good idea or is needed. So whose idea is it then?"

Gifted at middle school

“My problem is not with the daily instruction of the gifted students at the elementary school, my problem is with the structure and inflexibility of the middle school. That's when parents are leaving looking for a different option. Maybe that's where Dr. Yearta needs to be pushing her agenda."

Cuts to Social Security, Medicare

“I read in Fridays Rant and Raves where one of our local scholars refered to folks taking issue with Mr. Psalmond’s claim that Obama is an enemy of Social Security and Medicare as imbeciles. I've got one question. What part of the Republican Party wants major cuts to those two programs in order to agree to a debt deal don't you understand? I say again. The Republicans want to cut Medicare and Social Security, not Obama. It’s reality not some childish insult."

Bent out of shape

“Well once again we've got somebody that thinks the R&R column is just for their benefit. Somebody got bent out of shape in defense of Mr. Psalmond’s letter. But I don't seem to recall an actual attack on Mr. Psalmond and I sure don't remember any name calling. And its really funny how his defender sites how cowardly these anonymous rants are while calling us imbeciles anonymously."

Text Only
Opinion
  • Rant and Rave for 7/25/14

    July 24, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Some folks love a good mystery

    Today some fellow is trying to sell me a book or a series of books via the internet. The teaser on my email asks me “Do you know the secret of the eighth day?

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/24/14

    July 23, 2014

  • Thoughts on Sabal Trail

    Safety, public input, federal monitoring, jobs, tax revenue, exceed federal safety requirements, reliability, affordable, clean, thorough review, latest proven technologies: These are all good little meta tags and nice-sounding words and phrases Andrea Grover, spokeswoman for the Sabal Trail Transmission project, used in her recent My Word about that company's proposed natural-gas pipeline.

    July 22, 2014 1 Story

  • Rant and Rave for 7/23/14

    July 22, 2014

  • Uplift our form of government; go vote today!

    Today is our election runoff. This is a great opportunity for some serious flag-waving. It’s also a great opportunity to uplift the very fundamentals of our democratic republic — a system where we choose leaders to make decisions for us. And it’s a time when we can honor those who have sacrificed to help secure our system of government.

    July 21, 2014

  • Rant and Rave for 7/22/14

    July 21, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Remembering those special moments

    Having been in the news business for many years, I have occasionally been asked what was the funniest or strangest story I’ve ever covered. Well, there have been a number of instances along the way that brought some chuckles, otherwise making my day.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Rant and Rave for 7/18/14

    July 17, 2014

  • dwain walden.tif Once upon a ‘blood moon’... etc.

    July 16, 2014 1 Photo

Business Marquee
Facebook
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
More
weatherradar
Seasonal Content
Poll

Should the U.S. negotiate with groups it considers terrorists?

No. Never.
Generally no, but prisoner exchanges are an exception.
Negotiation will be required to end the conflicts we have with those groups.
     View Results