MOULTRIE — The Colquitt County FFA carried out one of its greatest traditions Thursday by honoring members for their accomplishments at the chapter’s 80th parent member banquet. Over half a million FFA members across the nation, along with more than 700 Colquitt County FFA members, celebrated the national theme, “Lead Out Loud.”

Throughout this past year students have competed in various projects, including agriculture mechanics, horticulture, gardening, crop production, record keeping, livestock production and home improvement. Their work was recorded and scored.

Students were also recognized for participation in local, state and national events and contests. The reward for all of the students’ hard work is a trip to Indianapolis, Ind., for the National FFA Convention.

Brandon Reynolds won the agricultural mechanics contest sponsored by Billy Jack’s Hardware. The event tests the student’s knowledge of farm machinery and its maintenance. The second placed winner was Logan Hampton. Third place was awarded to Nick Hodges.

The gardening contest was won by Austin Griffin. Students have to grow and keep records on a garden to compete in this contest. David Henry placed second and Nick Hodges placed third in the contest, sponsored by Farmer’s Seed.

Jeremy Sutton won the crop production contest. Students participating in this contest must produce one or more agronomic crops and keep records on their projects. Austin Thaggard placed second in this contest, which was sponsored by Whittington Insurance. Matt Lindsey placed third.

Tye Wynn won first place in the home improvement contest. The youngster helped his parents with numerous farm and home improvements. The contest is sponsored by Baell Mercantile Co. Nick Hodges placed second.

April Paulk won the record keeping contest sponsored by Carlton Insurance Agency. Students participating in record keeping must keep an accurate, detailed accounting of their farming enterprises. Tyler Powell placed second.

The livestock award was taken by Harden Mobley. The senior FFA member exhibited calves, and pigs in local, district and state shows. The contest is sponsored by Moultrie Livestock. Placing second was Tyler Powell and third was Jonathan Meadows.

Jonathan Meadows was the winner of the horticulture contest sponsored by Gay’s Tire Service. In second place was Jenna Hagler and third was Bryson Griner.

Co-winning the Cotton Award sponsored by Mobley Gin were Cole Summerlin and Tyler Powell. To compete in this contest, students must plant and produce his or her own field of cotton. Second place went to Matt Lindsey, and Austin Thaggard was third.

Maggie Hart was awarded the leadership award sponsored by Brent Chitty State Farm. Bryson Griner placed second.

Academic recognition was given to Caleb Norman who maintains a 100+ grade point average. Caleb won a $250 scholarship from Moultrie Tire.

The chapter also bestowed its honorary membership to School Superinendent Leonard McCoy for his support of the chapter.

C. A. Gray Junior High School bestowed the Star Greenhand Award to their most outstanding members. Principal Todd Cason presented the award to Dillon Frazier and Alex Kimbrell. Principal Doug Howell of Williams Middle School, presented the discovery award to 15 FFA members who attend his school.

The chapter’s top awards went to four ag students who, through the years, have been a cut above their contemporaries.

Jeremy Sutton and Tye Wynn were named the chapter’s Star Agribusinessmen. The holder of the Greenhand, Chapter Farmer and Georgia Planter degrees, they participated in many FFA-sponsored contests and events.

Tyler Powell was named the Chapter’s Star Farmer for his service to the organization, school, and outstanding SAE projects.

Keaton Griner was named the chapter’s Most Outstanding Agriculture Student in recognition of her service to the organization, school and community.

React to this story: