MOULTRIE — Last year Dillon Fraizer wrote an essay responding to a question about why he wanted to show a heifer in the 2008 Colquitt County Quality Livestock show. His effort won him the heifer calf he exhibited on Tuesday — the one that was named this year’s Grand Champion heifer. The animal was provided by the family of the late Tuck Galphin, a longtime Colquitt County beef producer.

A few hours after Fraizer won the heifer top prize, Jonathan Mobley exhibited the Grand Champion steer, named over the other 39 entries by show judge Smokey Spears, an Alabama livestock expert.

Blaize Wynn exhibited the Reserve Champion heifer and Lakin Davis had the Reserve Champion steer in the show.

The five showmanship awards went to Murdock Wynn (fifth grade and under), Dillon Frazier ( sixth and seventh grade), Maggie Hart (eighth and ninth grade), Tye Wynn (10th and 11th grade) and Blaize Wynn (12th grade).

Camille Sellers had the best homegrown heifer and Aubrey McCarty had the best homegrown steer.

Aubrey McCarty exhibited the top homegrown steer.

The Tuck Galphin Senior Beef and Calf Scholarship winners were announced at the sale Tuesday night. Clay Sellers is the 2008 Senior winner. Austin Griffin is the 2008 Calf Scholarship winner.

Competition in the heifer division was broken down into three categories, Crossbred heifers (classes one through three), European heifers (classes four through six) and British breeds (class seven). The seven class winners compete for Grand Champion. After the Grand Champion is named, the second place heifer from the Grand Champion’s class, is added to the show ring for the Reserve Champion selection.

In Heifers—Class 1, Alex Kimbrell placed first, Dillon Frazier was second and Erin Smith was third.

Frazier won Class 2. Second place went to Katie Kimbrell and third place went to Tyler Powell.

In Class 3, Blaize Wynn placed first, Bryson Griner was second and Murdock Wynn was third.

Jonathan Mobley won the Class 4 group over Clay Seller in second and Tye Wynn in third.

Blaize Wynn won Class 5. Keaton Griner was second and Nicholas Mobley was third.

Elaine Hurst was the winner in Class 6. Blake Springer placed second.

In Class 7, Camille Sellers finished first, followed by Maggie Hart in second and Harden Mobley in third.

In the six classes of competition in the steers division, Class 1 was won by Justin Bass. Benjamin Hegwood placed second and Cole Summerlin was third.

The Class 2 winner was Lane Carroll. Saige Frazier placed second and Aubrey McCarty placed third.

Hunter Roberts was the Class 3 winner. He was followed by Reid Diers in second place and Savannah Hegwood in third place.

Lakin Davis placed first in Class 4. Bailey Brewer was second and Skylar Grubbs was third.

The show’s Grand Champion came from Class 5 with Jonathan Mobley winning the class. In second place was Tyler Powell and in third place was Brice Redding.

Harden Mobley won Class 6. He was followed in the class by Garrett Brewer in second place and Hunter Allyn in third place.

React to this story: