First place winners

More than 300 students participated and more than 100 students won awards at the Colquitt County Regional Technology Fair, held recently at Colquitt County High School. First-place winners, shown above, have the chance to go on to the state technology fair in Macon.

The Animated Graphic Design category was accidentally omitted from the original version of this article and has been replaced in this update.

MOULTRIE — Colquitt County Schools hosted the 9th Annual Colquitt County Schools Regional Technology Fair at Colquitt County High School Jan. 24.

More than 330 students in grades 3-12 from Colquitt County Schools and Thomas County Schools competed in specific categories like robotics, digital photography, animated graphics, mobile app design, and digital game design. Most categories require students to create an image or build a program from the ground up, designing every aspect that the user sees.

More than 100 volunteers came together to help make this event a success, the school system said in a press release.

“The most instrumental of this staff was certainly the district technology specialists: Melanie Turner, Christy Dryden, Randi Brown, and Cindy Walsh,” the press release said.

“Also credited with the success of the fair were technology club advisors from each school,” the release continued. “Mrs. June Chatman, Doerun Elementary School Technology Club advisor, was named the Most Outstanding Technology Club Advisor for the 2014-2015 school year.

“Other volunteers for the day included teachers from most of the schools involved, community members, Central Office employees, and CCHS ROTC,” the release said

Following an introduction by Superintendent Samuel DePaul, the awards ceremony recognized first, second, and third place winners in each category and division.

Student names were entered into a drawing for an iPad, Droid tablet, laptop, and many other technology items donated by technology vendors like CNS, Bytespeed, Ace, ESS, MXN and Unified Technologies. Several local businesses including Griner Jewelry, Blue Sky Grill, Three Crazy Bakers, Beans and Strings, and the Sugar Shack also donated items in support of the Tech Fair.

The first place winners from this regional competition have the opportunity to go to the state level of the Georgia Educational Technology Fair to be held on March 7 at Middle College of Georgia‘s Macon campus.

To find out more about this state competition, or to sign up as a judge for the event, please visit 

Winners of the Colquitt County Regional Technology Fair include:

3-D Modeling

1st: Ryleigh Beth Robinson, R.B. Wright Elementary; Jake Nichols, Colquitt County High School; Abigail Fonseca, Cox Elementary; Vance Stephens and Logan Sanders, Thomas County Central High School; and Vincent Yates, C.A. Gray Junior High.

2nd: Lync Thomas, Sunset Elementary; and Gage Edmondson, Okapilco Elementary.

3rd: Alyson Scroggins, R.B. Wright; and Cayden Parker and Cam Cook, Gifted Center.

Animated Graphic Design

First place: Alexis Turner of Colquitt County High School, Amber Forrester of Thomas County Middle School, Carl Hall of the Gifted Center, and Bobby Mitchell and Cody Welch of Willie J. Williams Middle School.

Second place: Joshua Massey and Caleb Joiner of the Gifted Center; and Xavier Nickerson and Langston Jordan of Okapilco Elementary School.

Third place: Victoria Luna-Alcantara of Norman Park Elementary School; and Ty’querrius Lamar of Odom Elementary School.

Digital Audio Production

1st: Kaylee Hall and Olivia Owens, Odom Elementary; and Ryley McCoy and Emma Roland, Odom.

2nd: Fabiola Hernandez, Odom; and Diana Carriche, Okapilco Elementary.

3rd: Jayden Williams and Kaitlyn Maxwell, Okapilco.

Digital Photography

1st: Amber Allen, Thomas County Middle School; Katie DeMott, Funston Elementary; Emily Brooks and Avery Kilgore, Odom; and Brooke McClelland, CCHS.

2nd:  Abby Cooper, Hamilton Elementary; Abril Hernandez and Lorelai Dampier, Odom; Jennifer Flores, CCHS; and Kelsey Dawson, Okapilco.

3rd: Stephanie Lampkins, Funston; and Zy’Marea Myricks, Norman Park Elementary.

Digital Video Production

1st: Jacob Harper, Hamilton; Hayes Nelson, Thomas County Central High; Austin Luna, Thomas County Middle School; and Emma Kirkley, R.B. ºWright.

2nd: Colin Faison, Sunset; Maddie Tugwell and Chloe Gould, Willie J. Williams Middle School; and Makinley Clark and Laura Hailey Bryan, Gifted Center.

3rd: Katlynn Powers, Hamilton; Jay Bonner, Funston; Layla Hewett and Sonji Hargrove, Gifted Center; Sean Hayden and Diego Charles, C.A. Gray; and Margarita Perez, Willie J. Williams.

Game Design

1st: Alex Turner, CCHS; Lily Ren, Gifted Center; and Caleb Smith, Funston.

2nd: Alicia McMurphy, Cox; Ward Terry and Ethan Slocomb, Gifted Center; and Tristan Addi, C.A. Gray.

3rd: Ethan Collins, Cox; and Ashton Flowers and Jaylon McCloud, Okapilco.

Hardware (7th-12 grade only)

1st: Katie Allegood, CCHS; James Mercer, C.A. Gray; and Cotton Hart, Willie J. Williams.

2nd: Caleb Chitty, CCHS.

Mobile App Design

1st: Daniel Durrence, Gifted Center; and Maahi Patel, Sunset.

2nd: Melodie Ramirez, Funston; and Eva Belle Barnett and Meredith Morris, Gifted Center.

3rd: Matt Yates and Joshua Daniels, Funston; and Colin Summerlin and Tyson Yates, Gifted Center.

Multimedia Applications

1st: Allison Taylor and Lizett Nunez, Funston; JaNazha Toombs and Taniya Rushing, Okapilco; LaKya Hill and Cy’Camri Peterson, Okapilco; Joshua Berry, Willie J. Williams; Joshua Chitty and Jake Wilkes, Odom; and Makenzie Heidelberg, Willie J. Williams.

2nd: Olivia Pace, Willie J. Williams; Emily Boatright, Doerun Elementary; Jessie Blair, Doerun; and Wesley Norman, Funston.

3rd: Summer Allbrooks, Hamilton; Liliana Martinez, Doerun; and Jumei Martin and Lauri Jo Burt, Okapilco.

Non-Animated Graphic Design

1st: Catalina Arnett, CCHS; Franklin Walker, Okapilco; and Alicia Gonzalez, Norman Park.

2nd: Elle Perryman, Hamilton; and Aaron Fields and Jay’Den Williams, Okapilco.

3rd: Carolyne Turner, Hamilton; and Ashton Pierce, Doerun.

Non-Multimedia Application

1st: Jar’Dae Williams and Miller Tompkins, Okapilco; and AnnaBeth Howard, Norman Park.

2nd: Zy’Norian McClendon, Cox; and Darby Mauldin, Doerun.

3rd: Cammi Ruis and Abby Bannister, Gifted Center; Jourynei Hicks, Doerun; Tre’Myne Thomas, Stringfellow Elementary; and TaQuaveon Myrick and Karlie McMullen, Okapilco.


1st: Joseph Gould, CCHS; Dev Patel, Sunset; and Bo Greene, Willie J. Williams.

2nd: Wes Mims and Bo Bridges, Sunset; and Samuel Kundi, C.A. Gray.

Web 2.0 Internet Applications

1st: Madison Croft, CCHS; Devon Bryan and Douglas Hopkins, Thomas County Middle; Morgan Ward and Abby Allensworth, Thomas County Middle; Tessa McCorkle, Thomas County Central High; and Alexis Brady and Zariah Cooper, Okapilco.

2nd: Magnolia Rodriguez, CCHS; Caleb Jenkins and Ryan Hollingsworth, Thomas County Middle; Maggie Bishop, Gifted Center; and Lana Safi, Sunset.

3rd: Dillon Reneau, Thomas County Middle; and Ava Croft, Gifted Center.

Technology Literacy Challenge

1st: Colin Summerlin, Gifted Center; Abby Allensworth, Thomas County Middle School; Amber Allen, Thomas County Middle School; James Mercer, C.A. Gray; and Hayes Nelson, Thomas County High School.

2nd: Jonah Hagin, Okapilco; Daniel Durrence, Gifted Center; Devon Bryan, Thomas County Middle; Tristan Addi, C.A. Gray; and Logan Sanders, Thomas County High.

3rd: Caleb Murphy, Okapilco; Gage Edmondson, Okapilco; Vicent Yates, C.A. Gray; Caleb Chitty, CCHS; and Magnolia Rodriguez, CCHS.

React to this story:


Recommended for you