MOULTRIE, Ga. — On Monday, April 29, the CCHS Media Center held its ninth annual edible book festival. Students and staff were challenged to create their best representation, made of some type of food, of a book. And, it does not have to be a cake!

Gifts were donated by Chick-Fil-A, Sugar & Spice, Three Crazy Bakers, Fullers, Dairy Queen, and Moultrie Cinemas. This year’s judges included Nancy Coleman, president of the John Benning Chapter of the DAR; Tammy Hart, CCHS cafeteria manager; Erin Hunnicutt, Moultrie Public Library; Donna Marshall, Colquitt County Schools; and Charlotte Strange from Chick-Fil-A.

The winners were:


1st: Betzy Romulo for The Yearbook

2nd: Troy Eaton for Hatchet/Guts (Gary Paulsen's autobiography)

Best Banned or Classic Book

1st: Robert Greene for Lord of the Flies

2nd: Luke Gonzalez for Catch 22

Drop Dead Gorgeous

1st: Jennifer Quintana for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

2nd: Halley Holweger  for The Fault in Our Stars

Most Pun-Derful

1st: Henry Matney for Serial Killer

2nd: Devin Foster for One Fish Two Fish

Children's Book

1st: Jocelyn Galindo for The Little Mermaid

2nd: Garrison Gay for The Giving Tree

3rd: Alexandra Perez for Fancy Nancy

People's Choice

1st: Sarah Gay for Curious George

2nd: Jaylin Drayton for The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

3rd: Lane Norman for The Cat in the Hat

React to this story: