Georgia College


MILLEDGEVILLE, Ga. — Steve Dorman, president of Georgia College, has awarded degrees to the graduating class of December 2018. Among them were the following students with Moultrie-area ties:

• Eric Gould of Moultrie.

• Katherine Moen of Rising Fawn.

Georgia College, the state's designated public liberal arts university, combines the educational experience expected at esteemed private liberal arts colleges with the affordability of public higher education.

President’s List

MILLEDGEVILLE, Ga. — The following students completed courses with exemplary marks and made the 2018 fall President's List at Georgia College in Milledgeville, Ga.

• Billie Mills of Moultrie.

• Rebecca Viohl of Moultrie.

Dean’s List

MILLEDGEVILLE, Ga. — The following students completed courses with exemplary marks and made the Dean's List for the 2018 fall semester at Georgia College in Milledgeville, Ga.

• Karston Spradley of Norman Park.

• Joslyn Reyes of Omega.

• William Price of Moultrie.

College of Coastal Georgia

President’s List

BRUNSWICK, Ga. — The College of Coastal Georgia’s Office of the President has announced the students who have earned their place on the President’s List by their high academic performance during the Fall 2018 semester.

Taylor Thornton of Colquitt County was among the honorees.

To be named to the President’s List, a student must be enrolled in at least twelve hours of course work and achieve a grade point average (GPA) of 4.00 for the term.

Thomas University

President’s List

THOMASVILLE, Ga. — The following full-time undergraduate student at Thomas University is recognized for achieving academic success during the Fall Semester 2018. President’s List students attend TU full-time and have a GPA of 4.0.

• Dewayne D. Fletcher of Moultrie.

Clemson University


CLEMSON, S.C. — Austin Akia Bryant of Pavo graduated Dec. 20, 2018, from Clemson University with a Bachelor of Science in Management .

Bryant was among more than 1,600 fall semester graduates from Clemson.

University of North Georgia


DAHLONEGA, Ga. — The University of North Georgia announces degrees and certificates awarded for the fall 2018 semester, including hundreds awarded in commencement exercises held Dec. 15 at the university.

• Jordyn Paramore of Doerun, Bachelor of Science in Psychology Cum Laude.

• Meagan May of Berlin, Master of Science in Kinesiology.

More than 600 students received their degrees at the University of North Georgia's (UNG) two fall commencement ceremonies Dec. 15 at the Convocation Center on UNG's Dahlonega Campus.

Georgia Attorney General Chris Carr and University System of Georgia Board of Regents member Erin Hames were the commencement speakers. Separate commissioning ceremonies were held Dec. 14 for 26 members of the Corps of Cadets entering the armed forces as second lieutenants.

President’s Honor Roll

DAHLONEGA, Ga. — Madison Lynn Chapman of Moultrie, Ga., has been named to the President's Honor Roll at the University of North Georgia (UNG) for achieving a 4.0 grade point average during fall 2018.

Bonita C. Jacobs, president of UNG, recognized students who reached this academic achievement during the fall 2018 semester. Students enrolled in 12 or more credit hours in bachelor's degree programs who achieved a 4.0 grade point average were named to the President's Honor Roll. Students enrolled in associate degree programs who met the same level of achievement were named to the President's List.

Chapman is seeking a Bachelor of Science in general studies/nursing.

Dean’s Lists

DAHLONEGA, Ga. — The deans of each of UNG's five colleges — the College of Arts & Letters, the College of Education, the College of Health Sciences & Professions, the Mike Cottrell College of Business, and the College of Science & Mathematics — announced the names of those students who made their respective lists for fall 2018.

Dean's List recognition is achieved by having at least a 3.5 grade point average, carrying 12 or more credit hours in one semester and having no grade lower than B.

Among those on the list were:

• Thomas Holman of Moultrie.

• Jordyn Paramore of Doerun.

• Olivia Zeigler of Moultrie.

React to this story: