MOULTRIE-- In a 15-minute called meeting Monday, the Economic Development Authority chose the last three members of its 11-person panel.

The new members will serve the county at-large. They are Diane Moore (no relation to Darrell Moore, executive director of the EDA), Mickey Key and Jimmy Jeter.

Diane Moore is a homemaker who lives in Colquitt County. In reference to her newly-gained position, she said she has always been interested in economic development.

"I have a degree in economics," Moore said. She said she loves Moultrie and Colquitt County and is ready to make a difference.

Mickey Key lives in Norman Park and is the assistant superintendent for business and operations for the Colquitt County Board of Education. He served as a county commissioner for eight years. Like Diane Moore, he said he did not have any ideas or suggestions to bring up just yet at the next meeting. He said he feels he needs to become familiar with the issues the EDA is currently dealing with.

"I need to listen a bit, (and) figure out what's going on," he said.

Jimmy Jeter was unavailable for comment by press time.

The eight other EDA board members are Billy Fallin, who served as chairperson this past year, Wallace Sansbury, Wayne Cooper, who serves as city councilman, Barbara Jelks, Broughton Williams, Benny Alderman, Louie Perry and Johnny Slocumb.

Darrell Moore said the board has not chosen a chairperson yet. He said the EDA will choose its chairperson at the next meeting on Jan. 15.

The EDA is currently trying to decide on a site for an industrial park -- an issue that has become quite controversial. Funds for the development of an industrial park were provided through a special local option sales tax.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you