MOULTRIE — The Moultrie Police Department celebrated its Christmas party Tuesday, Dec. 12, with an awards ceremony, the swearing-in of two new officers, and a total of 18 promotions.

Awards included:

• Top Gun, Jamie Dixon.

• Training Officer, Jeremy Haskin.

• Good Conduct, Fernando Hernandez.

• Officer of the Year, Alfonzo Cook.

City clerk Ella Fast swore in two new officers, Jerome Burgess and Shanell Borders.

Promotions included four to the rank of lieutenant, six to the rank of sergeant and eight to the rank of corporal.

New lieutenants are Bruce Hamm, Alfonzo Cook, Roger Lindsay and Roger Miller.

New sergeants are Seth Walters, Eddie Spradlin, Terry Gibson, Teresa Hitt, Sam Smith and Alfred Anderson.

New corporals are Ronald Harvey, Tamika Scott, Carly Davis, Tim Wilson, Daniel Lindsay, William Stone, Trey Raynor and John Weissinger.

The keynote speaker for the evening was City Councilman George Walker, who spoke about family, children and the values instilled in the home. He said the motto “Protect and serve” represents each officer and the community in which they serve.

Also during the ceremony, Police Chief Frank Lang led the officers in reciting the Code of Ethics.

Mayor William McIntosh and other city officials made closing remarks, and the event ended with a dinner, door prizes and Santa Claus for the children.

React to this story: