MOULTRIE -- The University of Alabama's Lane Bassham has been named the Southeastern Conference's Women's Diver of the Year.

The selection was made by vote of the SEC's coaches. The 2004 NCAA 3-meter champion was a unanimous pick.

Pat Greenwell, Bassham's diving coach at Alabama, was named the Coach of the Year.

"These are tremendous honors for Lane and Pat and for the Crimson Tide program,"Alabama head swimming and diving coach Eric McIlquham said. "Lane had a season second to none and I am pleased to see her rewarded for her efforts in this manner.

"Pat has done his usual outstanding job with our divers. This is the kind of thing we've come to expect from him over the years."

When she won her national championship in College Station, Texas, Bassham became the first member of the Alabama women's swimming and diving team to capture an NCAA title in 20 years.

The former Colquitt County High and Moss Farms diver also was second on the 1-meter board at the NCAAs and was named NCAA Championships Diver of the Meet.

She was undefeated during the regular season on both the 1-meter and 3-meter boards.

Bassham also was named SEC Diver of the Year by the Knoxville News-Sentinel after sweeping both boards at the SEC Championships.

For her career, Bassham earned eight All-American honors and three SEC championships. She is only the second Alabama woman to be named SEC Diver of the Year, joining All-American Barbara Logan, who earned the honor in 1981. Bassham's honor is the 11th for the combined men and women's diving program at Alabama.

Dennie and Anehea Bassham's daughter recently graduated from Alabama. She is preparing for next month's Olympic Team Trials by working with her former Moss Farms coach Wenbo Chen, currently the diving coach at Purdue.

Greenwell now has been named SEC Coach of the Year five times. Three of his women reached the finals and four scored at the SEC championships. Bassham and Crystal Rasmussen earned berths at the 2004 NCAA Championships.

Rasmussen earned honorable mention All-American honors after finishing 11th on the 1-meter board.

Greenwell was named 2004 NCAA Championships Diving Coach of the Meet and the Knoxville News-Sentinel's SEC Diving Coach of the Year for women.

Greenwell's honor is the 10th for an Alabama diving coach.

Auburn's Kirsty Coventry was named SEC Swimmer of the Year and Kara Lynn Joyce of Georgia was named Freshman Swimmer of the year. Kentucky's Kari Retrum claimed the corresponding award for a freshman diver.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you