Tanner Wilson will help lead the District III champion Colquitt County Gold all-stars into next week’s Georgia Recreation and Park Association’s Midget Boys Class B state tournament.

Four Colquitt County boys all-star teams will compete in GRPA state tournaments next week.

And the Colquitt County Gold and Black 8-and-under all-stars will try to win a state title in their own backyard.

Colquitt County Gold won the District III tournament last week and will be the host team of the GRPA Class B state tournament that will run July 12-14 at the Magnolia Sports Complex.

Colquitt County Black and Thomasville also will represent District III in the tournament.

The eight-team, double-elimination tournament will open on at 6 p.m. on Thursday, July 12, with Colquitt County Gold facing Vidalia and Colquitt County Black meeting Summerville.

At 7:30 p.m., Rincon will play Thomasville and Calhoun will face Washington.

Winners and losers bracket games will continue on Friday, July 13, with the championship game scheduled for 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, July 14.

Colquitt County Gold won all four of its District III tournament games and claimed the championship with a 10-6 victory over Thomasville in title game.

Gold also defeated Crisp County 16-0, Thomasville 19-5 in an earlier game and Colquitt County Black 11-2.

The Gold team includes Hayden Moore, Gavin Steptoe, Davis Dalton, Cannon Whatley, Abraham Daniels, Chasyn Miley, Drew Johnson, Jayden Weaver, Jace Autrey, Mason White, Henry Underwood, Nathan Harden and Landon Griffin. The team’s coaches are Keith Whatley, Andy Whittaker, Chris Miley, Andy Harden and Ricky Griffin.

Colquitt County Black, which finished third in the District tournament, includes Brock Weaver, Jesse McMurphy, Hayes Lightsey, Cole Whatley, Landon Norman, Parker Bruce, Will Snipes, Zane Touchton, Rahiem McBride, Cameron Summerlin, Thomas Propst, Steven Spradley and Preshaun Fann.

John Summerlin is the coach.

The Colquitt County A 10-and-under all-stars, which won the District III tournament in Moultrie, will travel to the Trembling Earth Recreation Complex in Waycross for the GRPA A/B Mite Boys with Pitching Machine state tournament.

Colquitt County will meet tournament host Ware County at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, July 11.

The championship game of the 12-team, double-elimination tournament is scheduled for 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, July 14.

Michael Boatwright, Dusty Dalton, Chad Horne, Justin Bozeman and Kyle Tostenson are coaching the Colquitt County A all-stars.

The team includes Carter Boatwright, Drew Dalton, Lucas Tostenson, John Melvin Herndon, Owen Fleury, Cason Davis, Chance Sealy, J.T. Whatley, Callon Kubiak, Eason Roberts, Jacob Walden, Gabe Horne and Noah Mercer.

The Colquitt County Gold 12-and-under all-stars will go to Calhoun for the GRPA Midget Boys Class B state tournament.

The undefeated District III champions will play their state tournament opener at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, July 11.

The championship game of the 10-team, double-elimination tournament will be held on 10 a.m. Saturday, July 14.

James Horne, Ed Wilson and Daniel Dalton are coaching the 12-and-under Gold all-stars.

The team includes Gavin Patel, Jared Horne, Tucker Hathcock, Lane Webb, Dylan Dalton, Ethan Phillips, Raines Plant, Cory Newsome, Tanner Wilson, Carson Johnston and Tucker Buckner.


React to this story:


Recommended for you