MOULTRIE — Colquitt County got one final chance to salute its remarkable 2009 Packers on Saturday at the annual football banquet, held for the first time at Heritage Church.

The Packers, who had gone a combined 6-14 the two previous seasons, went 11-3 last fall, advancing to the state semifinals before being eliminated by eventual state champion Camden County.

Among the highlights of the 2009 season were:

• The 11 victories were the most since the 1999 team went 11-2.

• First time Colquitt County reached the state semifinals since 1998.

• Two of the three losses were to the teams that played for the state championship: state champion Camden County and state runner-up Northside-Warner Robins. Colquitt lost to those two teams by a combined 12 points.

• The Packers other loss was to Lowndes, which finished No. 5 in the state.

• In the state playoffs, the Packer eliminated two previously unbeaten teams: Stephenson and Lassiter.

• Colquitt County finished No. 4 in the final Associated Press Class AAAAA poll. The Packers were No. 6 in the final Georgia High School Football Daily poll.

• Two Packers – wide receiver/quarterback/kick returner Quin Roberson and defensive tackle Cameron Erving – were named All-State.

• 17 Packers were named to the All-Region 1-AAAAA team, including four – Erving, Roberson, running back Tevin King and center Bryce Giddens – who were named to the first team.

• Roberson was named the region’s Offensive Player of the Year.

• Coach Rush Propst was named the Southwest Georgia Coach of the Year by In The Game High School Sports Magazine.

• Roberson was named the Special Teams Player of the Year by In The Game High School Sports Magazine.

The team’s All-Region players were honored at the banquet.

They are Bryce Giddens, Tevin King, Chris Walsh, Xavier Ward, Tyler Brown, Tyler Dismuke, Jacob Propst, Rich Tyndall, Cameron Erving, Nyneson Jeudy, Tyrell Wright, Willie McCrary, William McCrary, Derrell Ward, Amel Magwood, Davis Durham and Quin Roberson.

A number of individual awards were presented, including several new this year.

• The Horkan Family Awards for Sportsmanship, first presented in 1956 by George A. Horkan Jr. in honor of his father, went to Jacob Propst and Tyrell Wright.

• The Friedlander Boar Hog Award, presented to the player who exhibits toughness and dedication on defense, was given to Cameron Erving.

• The Charlie Pippin Unsung Hero Awards went to Hakeem Peterson and Derrell Ward.

The award is presented in the memory of the three-year (1960-1962) starting quarterback for the Moultrie High Packers who went on to play at the University of Florida. He was killed in a car wreck in 1970 at age 25.

The Knuck McCrary Fighting Spirit Award, presented in the memory of Moultrie High Packers head coach from 1951-1965, was presented to Chris Walsh.

McCrary suffered a heart attack on the sidelines of a game against Dougherty High in 1965 and died that night. He had a career coaching record of 85-52-8.

• The Rocky Jones Strong Man Award, presented in memory of former Colquitt County offensive lineman and longtime supporter of Packer athletics and youth sports Rocky Jones, went to Bryce Giddens.

• The Virgil “Bud” Willis Award for Character, presented in honor of the Moultrie High head football coach from 1965-1977 who posted a career record of 93-34-1, was presented to the Colquitt County High seniors as a group.

The senior never experienced a winning season until their final year.

As seventh graders, their team went 0-6; as eighth-graders, 1-5; as ninth-graders, 0-8; as sophomores, 2-8; and as juniors, 4-6.

The award is presented to the players judged to have exhibited good sportsmanship and impeccable character.

• The Ralph Taylor Special Teams Award went to Tyler Dismuke.

The award is presented in honor of Ralph Taylor, head football coach at William Bryant High 1966-1970, posting a record of 35-6-1, and an assistant coach at Colquitt County.

Awards presented for the first time this year were:

• The Ray Goff Top Gun Award given in honor of the former Packers quarterback and Georgia Bulldogs player and coach.

Goff was two-year starter at quarterback for the Moultrie Packers in 1971 and 1972, passing for 2,444 yards and two touchdowns.

He was named All-State and a Parade Magazine All-American. Played football at Georgia, where he was SEC’s Offensive Player of the Year in 1976 and was seventh in the Heisman Trophy balloting. At age 33, he was named Georgia’s head football coach in 1989 and coached the Bulldogs until 1995.

The award was preseted to Quin Roberson,

• The Coach Jim Hughes Academic Awards were presented in honor of the Packers winningest coach.

Named to the Georgia Athletic Coaches Association’s Hall of Fame in 2009, Jim Hughes won three state championships during his career, including Colquitt County’s only state title in 1994, when the Packers went 15-0. He posted a career record of 247-102-4 in 30 seasons at Thomasville and Colquitt County and was 140-68-2 with the Packers from 1983-1999.

The award was presented to the Packers top three scholar/athletes, Ashley Mead, Beau Weathers and Davis Durham.

• The Virgil Seay Award Special Teams Return Award was presented in honor of the Moultrie Packers leading rusher in 1974 and 1975, who went on to play for Chan Gailey at Troy State.

While at Troy State, he once returned three punts for touchdowns in one game against Livingston.

Seay is the only Colquitt countian to win a Super Bowl championship ring when he was a member of 1984 Washington Redskins team that defeated the Miami Dolphins 27-17 in Super Bowl XVII in Pasadena, Calif.

The award went to Quin Roberson.

Other awards presented were:

• The Junior Offensive Player of the Year Award, to Garrett Brewer.

• The Junior Defensive Playerof the Year Award Quan Daniels.

• The Offensive Lineman of the Year Award, to Bryce Giddens.

• The Top Receiver Award, to Quin Roberson.

• The Packer Back Award, to Tevin King.

• The Defensive Back Award, to Amel Magwood.

• The Defensive Lineman of the Year Award, to Cameron Erving.

• The Linebacker of the Year Award, to Willie McCrary.

Also honored were the Packers four permanent captains: Propst, Roberson, Durham and Erving.

Twenty cheerleaders and 18 football players were honored as top scholars.

The football cheerleaders also announced their top two awards.

Receiving the Packer Pride Award was Ashley Faison. The Tora Jenkins Awards went to Hannah Vereen.

Cheerleader captains Faison, Vereen, Ivy Jarvis, Anna Hall and Natalie Newsome also were honored.

The 2009 Packer Football Highlights DVD is available for $20.

To get a copy, call Booster Club President Bull Durham at 985-1415 or Ron Hunter at 985-0367.

React to this story: