MOULTRIE -- For the second time this week, Moss Farms diver Ryan Helms turned in a third-place finish in a preliminary round to advance to the finals in the 2004 National Junior Diving Championships being held at the Moose Moss Aquatic Center.

Only the top four divers in the prelims advance to finals. Helms finished third in the 14-15 boys 3-meter springboard preliminary event on Monday to reach Tuesday's finals.

He duplicated that effort on Wednesday, scoring a 373.56 to finish third in the 14-15 boys platform prelim.

And he was just .39 behind second-place finisher Sean Moore of Mile High Dive Club and just 2.67 points behind Brent Eichenseer of U.S. Elite Diving, who finished first.

Helms now will advance to the finals, scheduled to begin at about 11:15 this morning, weather permitting.

The threat of storms forced meet coordinators to move all of Wednesday's prelims to the morning.

More bad weather is forecast for today. The finals in the 13-and-under boys 1-meter, 13-and-under girls 3-meter and 14-15 girls platform will begin at 9 this morning.

Nic Price of Moss Farms will be entered in the 13-and-under boys 1-meter and teammate Hannah Moore will compete in the 14-15 girls platform event.

Following the completion of those rounds, the 16-18 boys 1-meter, 16-18 girls 3-meter and 14-15 boys platform finals will be held, beginning about 11:15 a.m.

The final prelims are scheduled for Friday and the last day of finals is set for Saturday.

However, if today's schedule is washed out, an alternate timeline is planned for Friday.

Helms was the only Moss Farms diver to qualify for finals on Wednesday.

Teammate Owen Blank, who also competed in the 14-15 boys platform prelim, finished 12th with a 284.07.

Anna Aguero was sixth in the 14-15 girls platform event. She missed qualifying for finals by less than four points.

In the 13-and-under girls 3-meter prelims on Wednesday, Ann Perry Blank finished ninth with a 226.02, Carly Moore was 11th with a 217.50 and Maddie Qurnell was 15th with a 195.96.

Kaylea Arnett of the Oklahoma Region Training Center finished first in the event with a 284.52. Kelsey Goodman of Islamorada Diving Team was second with a 270.78; Mary Kate hardy of Lightning Diving was third with a 256.53; and Kaci Hollingsworth of Mission Viejo Natadores was fourth with a 255.75.

The four will advance to finals, which already includes Kassidy Cook, Roxanne Fitter, Marissa Johnson, Casey Matthews, Kirsty Shepler, Maren Taylor, Amanda Varela, Thea Vock and Katrina Young.

Cook is only 9 years old.

In the 14-15 boys platform, Eichenseer, Moore, Helms and fourth-place finisher Colin Bell of Coral Springs Diving Team will join David Boudia, Matt Cooper, David Colturi, Taylor Dehn, Thomas Finchum, Harrison Jones, Drew Livingston and Daniel Mazzafero in the finals.

Finchum won the 14-15 boys 3-meter finals on Tuesday.

Montgomery Dive Club's Chris Hoppler finished first in the 13-and-under boys 1-meter with a 249.75. He was followed by Fuel Diving's Ryan Hawkins, with a 231.99; Tom Neubacher, with a 227.79 and Nick Klein with a 222.21.

They will advance to today's finals and go up against Sam Decker, Alex Edfort, Ross Edfort, Kristian Ipsen, Andrew Krafft, Connor Kuremsky, Nick McCrory and Moss Farms' Nic Price.

Jeremy Stultz of Pitt Aquatic Club took the top qualifying spot in the boys 16-18 1-meter event with a 470.97. In second was Corry Christian of Team Orlando with a 455.22. He was followed by Scott Derner of Grapevine Carroll Diving, who had a 450.90, and Kelly Marx of Jayhawk Diving, who had a 447.30.

Also in the finals will be Dwight Dumais, Aaron Feight, Ben Herboth, Terry Horner, Evan Linette, Landon Marzullo, Burkley Showe and Jonathan Wilcox.

In the girls 16-18 3-meter prelims on Wednesday, Corey Gerlach of U.S. Elite Diving finished first with a 444.93.

Also advancing were Team Orlando's Brittany Viola, who had a 434.25; Emily Bouck, also of Team Orlando, who scored a 418.71; and Julie Brummond of Lightning Diving, who had a 408.42.

Awaiting those four in the finals are Chelsea Davis, Katie Giarra, Chelsea Johnson, Kathryn Kelly, Jessica Livingston, Christina Loukas, Kara Salamone and Marisa Samaniego.

The 14-15 girls platform preliminary was the final event on Wednesday. Allison Barr of Team Orlando qualified first with a 348.60. She was followed a pair of divers from Montgomery (Maryland) Dive Club: Shana Karp, who was second with a 314.76, and Cara Murnan, was was third with a 312.99.

Abigail Johnston of U.S. Elite Diving was fourth with a with a 311.85.

The divers who have already qualified for the event include Moss Farms' Hannah Moore. Also in the field are Kara Cook, Monica Dodson, Meg Hostage, Tory Ishimatsu, Jessica Lyden, Ariel Rittenhouse and Erin Savas.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you