MOULTRIE -- The Moultrie-Colquitt County Parks and Recreation Department's first season of fast-pitch softball will start on Monday with 12 teams in three age groups and in numbers that have pleased recreation director Rick Gehle.

Although the number of participants are down from the number that participated in the final season of slow-pitch softball last year, the decrease is not significant, Gehle said.

And in light of the troubles that several other similar-sized recreation departments have had in switching from slow--pitch to fast-pitch, Gehle can't complain.

"I thought we'd take a significant hit," Gehle said Wednesday. "Compared to other departments, we've done real well. Two years ago, Bainbridge suffered a big hit on participation. And Cairo doesn't even have enough registered to pla.

"But there seems to be a lot of interest (here)."

Gehle said there are no slow-pitch tournaments planned by the Georgia Recreation and Parks Association for this summer, so departments hoping to send teams to contend for state championships must play fast-pitch.

"It's the beginning of a new trend and I hope people will accept the challenge," Gehle said. "But the coaches are encouraged and we're excited about it."

The league for 7- and 8-year-olds will use a pitching machine, but the 10-and-under, 12-and-under and 14-and-under leagues will use "live arm" pitching.

In fast-pitch softball, pitchers and catchers take on a larger role and take longer to develop.

The 10-and-under league will have three teams.

The Intimidators, coached by Kenny Wallace, include Bria Wallace, Jana Harvin, Christy Harper, Velencia Harvey, Jakeara Jones, Lakin Mercer, Kenisha Seay, Shante Keel, Kaley Kilgore, Kaitlin Turner, Mackenzie Wood, Kaytlyne Jarvis and Java Summerlin.

Coach Beau Grimm's Tomboys include Harley Grimm, Constance Terrell, Mandolin Manning, Kaycie Nichols, Ashlee Holt, Lindsey Causey, Saige Frazier, Shanna Certain, Becky Collier, Jessica Stone, Holly Elkins, Carrie Parrish, Candesa Ford, Adrean Rogers and Jasona Robinson.

Charlie's Angels, coached by Charlie Hoes, include Jordan Hoes, Savannah Martin, Stephanie Blair, Shyann Tucker, Desiree Terrell, Dakota Beck, Courtney Miller, Karah Collins, Brittni Weathers, Destini Giddens, Summer Snipes, Emily Davis, Devon Tillman and Stephanie Welch.

Five teams will play in the 12-and-under league.

Down and Dirty will be coached by Tim Griner. His players are Lisa Stewart, Jessica Harvin, Lori Griner, Ashley Everett, Selica Daniels, Amanda Thompson, Shabretta Carter, Shawdia Grant, Camille James, Savannah Hegwood, Andreka Jenkins, Anna Jursik, Jasmine Pearce and Haley Lott.

The Lady Eagles will be coached by Doug Hooks, Tonya Summerlin and Doug Eldridge. The players are Devin Hooks, Jennifer Tucker, Tiffany Troupe, Allyson Eldridge, Ashley Thacker, Christie Lane, Christian Davis, Courtney Hicks, Susan Adams, Amber Phillips, Ashley Peek, Heather Russell and Elizabeth Davis.

The Storm coaches are Rusty Davidson, Jim Owens and Sandra Lewis. Their players are Mason Lott, Ashley Skeen, April Jones, Shayna Owens, Maggie Davidson, Bethany Lewis, Tasha Tillman, Courtney Carroll, Jalissa Black, Haley Clark, Ivy Jarvis and Amanda Todd.

The Wild Thangs are Aubrey Perryman, Hannah Bass, Kayla Bridwell, Kacey Merritt, Brittany Horne, Casey Kilgore, Kimko Shealey, Ariel Sasine, Jana Duncan, McKenzie Turpen, Lauri Saunders, Lori Sherling and Abigale Potter. The coaches are Craig Perryman, David Bass and Tina Bridwell.

The Dawgs will be coached by Kevin Giddens, Steve Hargrove and David Alderman. Their players are Melinda Workman, Stephanie Baird, Mary Folsom, Lunden Connell, Ashley Ray, Melanie Bass, Katie Hargrove, Haley Hancock, Kyandrea Simpson, Shannon Giddens, Tiara Grant, Shakenia Grant and Kayla Alderman.

Four teams will play in the 14-and-under league.

Down and Dirty will be coached by Phillip Brinson, Tad May and Barbara Chafin. The players are Erica Grantham, Loryn Brinson, Tasha May, Ashley Chafin, Amy Campbell, Megan Elkins, Whitney Monita, Sara Walker, Brandy Murphy, Krista Taylor, Whitney Hood and Rebecca Jo Horne.

Carol Norman will coach the Stunners. The players are Leigh Norman, Jessica Presley, Brittney Cooper, Stephanie Burgess, Anna Simmons, Jenna Griner, Whitney Conger, Adrianna Najar, Brittany Sikes, Tiffany Powell, Alicia Castleberry and Shanda Best.

The Hard Core team is coached by Beau Grimm and Jennifer Thomas. Their players are Erika Grimm, Heather Tucker, Erin Certain, Jade Lott, Rebecca Burnette, Samantha Burnette, Brittnee Long, Whitney Nunes, Danielle Flom, Jessi Bell and Allison Jones.

Kevin Roberts, Kenny Wallace and Donnie Jones will coach the No Name team. The players are Ashley Stafford, Shontae Robinson, Heather Roberts, Elizabeth Burdette, Carissa Inboden, Kenyetta Wallace, Morgan Jones, Kellie Wilson, Kimberly Fields, Mary Beth Wiggins and Janay Hudson.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you