MOULTRIE - Colquitt County's Sherard Reynolds and Curtis Jackson were selected at two positions and C.A. Sanders was named for the third straight year to the All-Region 1-AAAAA football team that was announced Tuesday.

Packers free safety Dantrell Hunt also was named to the team, which was dominated by Valdosta High.

The Wildcats, who will play Camden County for the Class AAAAA state championship on Saturday, had the Offensive Player of the Year in quarterback Cedric Hatten; the Defensive Player of the Year in cornerback Carlton Williams; and the Coach of the Year in Rick Darlington.

Rey-nolds, Sanders and Hunt were first-teamers on the elite squad, which was selected by the sports writers who cover Region 1-AAAAA.

Jackson, who started only the last six games at wingback, was named as a second-team running back and an honorable mention defensive end.

Reynolds, who started much of the season in both the offensive and defensive backfield, was named as the region's first-team all-purpose back and as an honorable mention defensive back.

And Sanders finished his outstanding career by making the all-region first team for the third straight time. As a sophomore and a junior, Sanders was selected for work at center.

This year, after moving to tackle, he was just as impressive and was a unanimous selection on the offensive line.

A strong case could be made for Reynolds as the Packers most valuable player and as the region's most versatile player.

The junior running back-wide receiver-defensive back was second on the team in rushing with 507 yards on 83 carries for a 6.1 average and five touchdowns. He also led the team in receiving with 18 catches for 261 yards and three touchdowns.

Reynolds also returned 13 kickoffs for 309 yards and six punts for 90 yards, a 15-yard average. And as a defensive back, he was sixth on the team in tackles, had an interception, a fumble recovery and four pass breakups.

Jackson is a former all-region selection at offensive guard, where he started this season and likely would have been picked for the elite team there again.

But after five games, he was moved to the offensive backfield and in six games rushed for 412 yards on 45 carries for a 9.6 average and had runs of 67 and 64 yards, both the longest of the season for the Packers.

On defense, he was among the team's leaders in tackles despite playing part-time and came up with a pair of fumble recoveries.

Hunt was clearly one of the top defensive backs in a region that featured strong secondary players. The senior free safety had three interceptions and was third on the team in tackles. He blocked three kicks, including one of a punt againstThomasville that resulted in a safety.

Also on the first-team offense with Hatten, Reynolds and Sanders are running backs Willie Cowart of Valdosta, Lynn Williams of Lowndes and Keon Sirmans of Coffee; tight end Cedric Hill of Valdosta; wide receivers Matt Davis of Tift County and Marvin Reed of Valdosta; offensive linemen Lewis Brooks of Lee County, Rahkeem Paulk of Coffee, Anthony Spates of Valdosta and Josh Bennett of Lowndes; and place-kicker Thomas Bailey of Lowndes, who connected on 13-of-16 field goal attempts.

The first-team defense included linemen Brett Cannon of Lee County, Kevin Moore of Coffee, B.J. Wright of Lowndes and Travis Eberhard of Valdosta; linebackers Devon Edwards of Coffee, Matt Ansley of Valdosta and Octavius Everett of Lowndes; defensive backs Hunt, Williams, Lynn Bryant of Tift County and Brad Johnson of Lowndes. Jack Stroud ofLee County was the first-team punter.

Named to the second-team offense were quarterbacks Donnell Cullins of Tift County and Markus Webb of Coffee; running backs Jackson, Freeman Stephens of Lowndes and Corey James of Valdosta; tight end Matt Harper of Lowndes; wide receivers Lee Caquelard of Tift County and Shawn Berrian of Valdosta; offensive linemen Jason McLeod of Lee County, Michael Spivey of Coffee, Andrel Simmons and Jonathan Lane of Valdosta, and Wesley Rountree of Lowndes; all-purpose back Randy Drew of Coffee; and place-kicker Matt King of Valdosta.

The second-team defense included linemen Rob Summers and Philip Goethe of Lowndes, Aaron Hilary of Valdosta and Blake Mullis of Coffee; linebackers Micah Baldwin of Tift County, Phillip Braley of Valdosta and Anthony McCastle of Lowndes; defensive backs Maurice Hill of Coffee, Trent McClendon of Lowndes and Martain Brown and Dewayne Williams of Valdosta. Matt Harper of Lowndes was the second-team punter.

Receiving honorable mention were running back Kevis Hodges of Coffee and Victor Harrell of Valdosta; offensive lineman Shawn Berglund of Valdosta; defensive linemen Curtis Jackson of Colquitt County, Stan Summers of Tift County, Colby Marrow of Valdosta and Adrian Grady of Coffee; linebackers Leroy Williams of Tift County, Rod Bailey of Coffee, Zack Golden of Lee County and James Neal of Valdosta; and defensive backs Sherard Reynolds of Coffee, Dominique Watts of Coffee and Ladell Griffin and Kevin Haggins of Tift County.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you