MOULTRIE – Camari Louis took home five awards during the 2018 Colquitt County football team’s Senior Celebration held April 18 at the high school cafeteria.

The dinner honored 21 members of the Packers team that went 14-1 last season, falling just short of a state championship when it fell 14-13 to Milton at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

Louis, an outstanding defensive and special teams player, will continue his football career at Kennesaw State next season.

He received the Friedlander Boar Hog Award; the Bud Willis Character Award; the Colquitt County Board of Education Academic Commitment to Excellence Award; the Captain Award; and the Jimmy Jeter Mr. Dependable Award.

Louis is probably best remembered for blocking an extra point in the semifinal overtime victory over Archer that sent the Packers to the state championship game for the fourth time in five years.

Awards presented were:

• The Lavasky King Packer Pride Award: Kendrick Neloms and Jerick Davis.

• The Ralph Taylor Special Teams Award: Kaleb Spradley.

• The Virgil Seay Special Teams Award: Jay Ward.

• The Bobby Cobb True Grit Award: Kam Woods and Will Rykard.

• The Dale Williams Community Service Award: Marcus Anderson.

• The Horkan Sportsmanship Award: Victor Cox.

• The Pippin Unsung Hero Award: Biron Silas and Josh Hadley.

•The Ray Goff Top Gun Award: Ryan Fitzgerald and Jaycee Harden.

• The Friedlander Boar Hog Award: Rashard Revels and Camari Louis.

• The Bud Willis Character Award: Camari Louis, Marvion McDonald and Ryan Fitzgerald.

• The Colquitt County Board of Education Academic Commitment to Excellence Award: Marcus Anderson, Will Rykard, Ryan Fitzgerald and Camari Louis.

• The Captain Award: Camari Louis, Rashard Revels and Marvion McDonald.

• The Knuck McCrary Fighting Spirit Award: Ty Leggett and Kendrick Neloms.

• The Rocky Jones Strong Man Award: Brian Merritt.

• The Tom White Scrambler Award: Brian Merritt.

• The Cam Erving Perseverance Award: Kameren Barnes, Samari Louis and Akeem McKiever.

• The Jimmy Jeter Mr. Dependable Award: Camari Louis and Daijun Edwards.

• The Dextra Polite Ultimate Competitor Award: Jay Ward.

Seventeen senior members of the 2018 state runner-up team earned scholarships.

They are Will Rykard and Rashard Revels, UAB; Marcus Anderson, Georgia State; Camari Louis, Kennesaw State; Jay Ward, LSU; Kamaar Bell, Auburn; Brian Merritt, FAU; Ryan Fitzgerald, Florida State; Samari Louis and Ty Leggett, Georgia Military College; Marvion McDonald and Kameren Barnes, Shorter; Akeem McKiever, Savannah State; Josh Hadley, Jerick Davis and Kam Woods, University of the Cumberlands; and JuJuan Williams, LaGrange.

React to this story: