MOULTRIE - Imie Mark's time was not quite as fast as it was last year, but it was good enough for him to win his second straight Race of the South, held Saturday at the Moultrie YMCA.

Mark ran the 6.2-mile course in 40:31 and now has won the title both years the race has been since it was revived by the YMCA last year. The Hahira runner had a 39:42 last year's race.

"That's an awesome course," Mark said. "The volunteers were great. It's one of the best races in the region, definitely."

Steve Johnson repeated as the first Colquitt County runner to cross the finish line, turning in a time of 41:46. He bettered his 2003 time of 42:15.

Colquitt County's Amy Sharon was the first female finisher with a time of 44:23.

The 10-kilometer race drew 45 runners.

Bernard Tindall finished first in the 1-mile fun run, which drew 77 entries.

Tyler Dismuke had the best time turned in by a Colquitt County runner, a 6:09. Alex Lindsey was the overall female winner in the fun run with a 7:23.

Mark's time won the male 25-29 age group. Tindall, who ran both races, finished second with a 47:05.

Hahira's Amy Mark was the only entry in the female 20-24 age group. She turned in a 56:15.

Leesburg's Tina Marbry finished first in the female 25-29 age group with a 60:43. Becky Miller of Hahira was second with a 61:01.

Moultrie's Matt Littleton won the male 30-34 age group with a 43:48. Patrick Buis was second with a 54:09. Bill Tucker was third with a 57:01. Buis and Tucker are both from Moultrie.s

Albany's Shelby Leby finished first in the female 30-34 age group with a 55:21. Moultrie's Tammy Ward was second with a 55:44, followed by Candy Jordan of Albany, who was third with a 59:12.

The male 35-39 age group was won by Jeff Sheffield with a 50:11.

Finishing behind Sharon in the female 35-39 age group was Colquitt County's April Mathis, who had a 48:05. Robin McDermott was third with a 62:25.

Tallahassee's Chuck Davis finished second to Johnson in the male 40-44 age group with a 42:41. Moultrie's Dave Wallace was third with a 43:21.

Tonya Kilpatrick of Albany won the female 40-44 age group with a 62:40. She was followed by Thomasville's Robin Bullard, who had a 66:42, and Albany's Sabrina Powell, who ran a 73:31.

The male 46-49 age group was won by Tallahassee's Jim Heberle with a 45:24. Moultrie's Lester Castellow had a 55:09 for second place. Richard J. Stokes of Leesburg was third with a 56:44.

Moultrie's Angela Castellow had a 51:26 to finish first in the female 45-49 age group. Paula Bacon of Albany was second with a 67:43.

The male 50-54 age group was won by Moultrie's Ben Marion with a 51:30. Bob Skerritt, also of Moultrie, was second with a 59:30. Albany's Tim Williams was third with a 62:57.

Sharon Tucker had a 63:25 in the female 50-54 age group. Matt Paine ran a 51:32 in the male 55-59 age group.

In the boys 7-and-under age group in the fun run, Hayden Bledsoe was first with a 9:10. He was followed by Lincoln Kinsey, who ran an11:53, and George Zeanah, who had an 11:55.

Clara Gene Vines was first in the girls 7-and-under age group with a 10:21. Jordan Yates was the runner-up with a 12:31.

In the boys 8-9 age group, Will Bannister came in first with a 7:40. He was followed by Eugene Anderson, who had an 8:27, and Austin Vines, with an 8:44.

Aislin Sheffield won the girls 8-9 age group with and 8:34. Taylor Marie Griner was second with an 8:48. Janice Sailor was third with a 10:12.

In the boys 10-11 age group, Alex Littleton was first with a 7:31. He was followed by Bobby Hill, who was second with a 7:51, and Akeem Rhymes, who was third with an 7:52.

Following Alex Lindsey in the girls 10-11 age group was Shabria Reed, who had an 8:31.

Dismuke won the boys 12-14 age group. Henry Norman was second, running the course in nine minutes flat.

Carly Banks was first in the girls 12-14 age group with a 7:27. Morgan Hayes was second, just one second back. Jessica Price was third with a 9:32.

Following Tindall in the male 15-and-older age group was Shawn Chambless with a 7:05.

In the female 15-and-over age group, Maggie Brown was first with a 10:35. She was followed by Jeri Michie, who was second with a 12:01, and Carol Anne Horne, who was third with a 12:02.

Stringfellow Elementary won the trophy for having the most students in the fun run, with 21. R.B. Wright had 12; Willie J. Williams and C.A. Gray middle schools had two each, and Okapilco and Sunset had one each.

React to this story:


Trending Video

Recommended for you