MOULTRIE — Moss Farms divers Hannah Moore and Ryan Helms were named the state’s Junior Olympics Divers of the Year on Saturday night and lived up to that billing with outstanding peformances in the Georgia All-Star Diving Meet held before awards banquet.

Moore and Helms were among 10 Moss Farms divers honored at the annual Georgia All-Star Banquet, held this year in Moultrie.

The two were joined by Anna Aguero, Ann Perry Blank, Owen Blank, Elizabeth Ann Kirkland, Carly Moore, Nic Price and Maddie Qurnell in being recognized for being part of the Junior Olympics National Team.

Leah Piemonte was honored as a Georgia All-Star.

Chris Colwill, who dives at the University of Georgia, and Sarah Ohr of the Atlanta Diving Association now at Stanford University, were the Senior Divers of the Year.

Colwill also was part of the Senior National Team.

Others from Georgia who qualified for the National Team were Ohr, Rachel Blair, Jonathan Fennelly, Cali Harrison, Hannah McElhannon, Alex Watson, Michael Wilson and Webb Worthington.

Winnard is a former member of the Moss Farms program.

Ansley Long and Sarah Cannon joined Piemonte as being honored as a Georgia All Star.

The meet that traditionally accompanies the All-Star banquet was held Saturday at the Moose Moss Aquatics Center.

Some 70 young divers took part, including those from Moss Farms, Georgia Diving Club and the Atlanta Diving Association.

In addition, Port City Diving from Theodore, Ala., FUEL Diving from Cornelius, N.C., and the North Carolina Aquatic Club from Chapel Hill, N.C., sent divers.

Moss Farms had 25 divers to take part, including Helms, who took first place on both the 1-meter and 3-meter boards in the boys 16-18 age group.

Helms scored a 480.10 on the 1-meter board, leaving Greg Ferucci of FUEL Diving in second with his 422.65.

Winnard was third with a 406.15.

Helms also beat Ferruci in the 3-meter event, but only by little more than one point.

The Moss Farms diver had a 484.40. Ferruci scored a 483.25.

Hannah Moore was second on both the 3-meter and 1-meter board in the 16-18 age group.

Anna Aguero, Moore’s Moss Farms, placed first on the 3-meter board in the 16-18 group and completed a fine meet with a third-place finish on 1-meter.

The Atlanta Diving Association’s Lexie Bryant was first in the girls 16-18 1-meter competition.

Moss Farms diver Ali Lepech had a strong meet, winning both the 1-meter and 3-meter boards in the girls 14-15 age group.

She scored a 342.45 to win on the 3-meter board with teammate Ann Perry Blank second in the 10-girl field with a 284.05.

Lepech also won the 1-meter competition over a teammate, but the margin was much, much closer. Lepech won with a 308.05. Kelsey Goodman was second with a 307.80. That event, too, drew 10 girls.

Ann Perry Blank had a strong meet, finishing second on 3-meter and third on 1-meter in the 14-15 age group.

Kelsey Goodman was second on 1-meter and fourth on 1-meter, also in the 14-15 age group.

In the boys 16-18 age group, Owen Blank was third on 3-meter and fourth on 1-meter.

Jacob Russell, also diving in the 16-18 age group, was fourth on 3-meter and fifth on 1-meter.

In the girls 11-and-under competition, Moss Farms Diving’s Leah Piemonte won on the 3-meter board with teammate Elizabeth Ann Kirkland placing second.

On the 1-meter board, their finishes were reversed, with Kirkland taking first and Piemonte placing second.

Audrey White was fourth on 1-meter an sixth on 3-meter in the 11-and-under competition.

Also in the girls 16-18 events, Staci Howard was sixth on 3-meter and eighth on 1-meter, and Maddie Qurnell was seventh on both boards.

In 14-15 girls, Jillian Braun was sixth on 3-meter and eighth on 1-meter.

The other Moss Farms divers who took part were Erin Goodman, Tristan Wells, Ronnie Piemonte, Tevin Hightower, Dalan Wedgeworth, Dean Benton, Savannah Dean, Henry Norman, Matthew Littleton, Nick Taylor and Ana Jimenez.

React to this story: