The Florida-Georgia War of the Border All-Star Game will return to Moultrie again this year with the game being played on a Friday evening rather than on a Saturday afternoon as it has in the past.

Kickoff will be on 8 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 17, at Tom White Field at Mack Tharpe Stadium and will feature a team of seniors from southwest Georgia against a team of north Florida seniors.

The Georgia team includes 10 Colquitt County seniors football players who will have one more chance to impress college recruiters.

Representing the Packers will be cornerbacks Michael Sutton and Maleek Lewis, safety O’Shay Williams, defensive back/running back Tim Sanders, linebacker Brandon Key, safety Quan Patillo, offensive lineman Gabe Mobley, offensive tackle Brandon Cope, offensive guard Clay Hawkins and defensive tackle Michael Parrish.

Those seniors were instrumental in leading the Packers to an 11-3 record last season.

Colquitt County has posted a 32-10 record over the last three seasons, reaching the state semifinals each season.

Tift County’s John Reid will be the Georgia team’s head coach. Six of his Blue Devil assistants will be on the Georgia team’s staff, as will Colquitt County linebackers coach Danny Blaylock.

Representing Tift County on the team will be defensive back Davarious Butler, receiver Malik Pittman, quarterback Ryan Wedgeworth, linemen J.C. Clark and Rashad Parks and linebacker Steve Waters.

The team also has players from Americus-Sumter County, Bainbridge, Brooks County, Cairo, Early County, Mitchell-Baker, Monroe, Miller County, Pelham, Thomas County Central, Thomasville, Worth County and Westover.

Madison County’s Mike Coe will be the head coach of the Florida team.

It will be the fourth year in a row that Moultrie has played host to the game, which is sponsored by Mike Gammons, who also puts on the eighth-grade championship games held the last four seasons.

Admission is $10 for adults and $5 for students. Children under age 5 will be admitted free.

React to this story:


Recommended for you