MOULTRIE — Colquitt County wide receiver Quin Roberson and defensive tackle Cameron Erving have been named to a pair of All-State football teams.

Roberson was named to the first team on both The Associated Press and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution teams.

Erving was named to the first team by The AP and received honorable mention on the AJC team.

Erving also was selected to play for the South team in the North-South All-Star Football Classic, which will be held at 2 p.m. today at Memorial Stadium in Columbus.

The game is sponsored by the Georgia Athletic Coaches Association.

Both Roberson and Erving were All-Region 1-AAAAA selections as well.

Erving had an outstanding senior season and was second on team with 98 total tackles.

“When Cam wants to play, he’s as good a defensive lineman as you’ll see,” Packers coach Rush Propst said.

“He can play.”

Erving has committed to play at Florida State and has not wavered, although he has received several other offers, Propst said.

Propst said he expects Erving to start in today’s North-South All-Star game.

“I think he’ll show well,” Propst said.

The last Packer to play in the game was Vance Cuff in 2006. Cuff is now playing at the University of Georgia.

Roberson was named Region 1-AAAAA’s Offensive Player of the Year after catching 58 passes for 911 yards and scoring 20 total touchdowns to help lead the Packers to an 11-3 record.

He is the Packers all-time leading receiver with 100 career catches.

“For what he meant to our team, he is one of the top five players in the state,” Propst said of Roberson.

“He made a lot of plays and won a lot of football games for us.”

The only Division I offer Roberson has received is from Cincinnati, which will play Florida in the Sugar Bowl on New Year’s Day.

Propst said Roberson also has offers from several smaller programs, but would not discount the wide receiver/return specialist receiving a late offer from another Division I school.

The Associated Press All-State team was selected by the Georgia Sports Writers Association.

Lassiter quarterback Hutson Mason, who committed last week to Georgia, was the Class AAAAA Player of the Year on The AJC team.

Mason set the Georgia record for passing yards with 4,560 and touchdowns with 54.

McEachern running back Rajaan Bennett was the AP Offensive Player of the Year.

Newnan defensive back Alec Ogletree, who also has committed to Georgia, was the AP and AJC Class AAAAA Defensive Player of the Year.

Camden County’s Jeff Herron, who led his team to its second-straight state championship, was the Coach of the Year on both The AP and AJC teams.

Also on the All-State teams from Region 1-AAAAA are Valdosta tight end Jay Rome (AP and AJC); Lowndes offensive lineman Ed Christian (AP and AJC); Northside offensive lineman Donnie Werden (AP); Northside place-kicker Devon Pike (AJC); Lowndes linebacker Telvin Smith (AP, AJC); Northside defensive back Brison Williams (AP, AJC).

Earning honorable mention were Pike (AP); Warner Robins defensive lineman Jeffrey Whitaker (AP); and Lowndes defensive lineman Michael Copeland (AJC).

React to this story:


Recommended for you