Like the Colquitt County boys basketball team, the Packers wrestling team is awaiting several key members who will return following the finish of the football season.

But the wrestling Packers are gaining some valuable experience until the others arrive.

And they are winning.

The Packers defeated Westover, Monroe and Dougherty on Thursday at the Pineland gymnasium after splitting four matches in the Crisp County duals last Saturday in Cordele.

“It was good to do that,” Packers coach Travis Torbert said of the sweep of the Dougherty County teams. “But Saturday will be tough.”

The Packers will have five guaranteed matches when they travel to the Lee County duals on Saturday.

“The kids are working hard and getting better,” Torbert said.

On Tuesday, the Packers defeated Westover 42-36 in their first match.

Winning by pin were Garrett May at 145, Hudson May at 152, Jazavier Jackson at 170 and Javier Martinez at 182.

And with the score tied, Richard Smith pinned his Patriot opponent in the final match to give the Packers the win.

Colquitt defeated Monroe 47-30.

Garrett May won by pin; Hudson May by technical fall; Blake Powell by pin at 160; Smith by pin at 132; and Hart Sumner by pin at 138.

The Packers had little trouble with Dougherty, winning 57-9.

Winning by pin were Jackson, Hunter Hancock at 195 and Devin Merritt at 220. Sumner won by a 5-4 decision.

The Packers lost their first match in the Crisp County duals on Saturday, falling to Crawford County 51-24.

Jackson and Hudson May won by pin.

Hancock and Martinez won byforfeit.

In the 43-42 win over Turner County, Garrett May, Hudson May, Landon Rehberg, Miguel Barrera, Jackson and Martinez all won by pin.

The Packers dropped a close match to Crisp County, falling 48-36.

Rehberg, Sumner, Garrett May, Hudson May and Martinez each won by pin.

Colquitt defeated Houston County 51-30 in their final match in Cordele.

Christopher Bullard won by pin at 106 and Miguel Carranza won by pin at 113.

Also winning by pin for the Packers were Rehberg, Sumner, Hudson May, Barrera, Martinez and Hancock.

Garrett May won by a 5-2 decision.

React to this story:


Recommended for you